The Pontypool and Blaenavon Railway Company (1983) Limited
What it does
The Railway Company exists to operate the heritage railway including restoration and maintenance of railway diesel and steam locomotives, railway carriages, railway wagons, buildings and infrastructure. This is for the benefit, pleasure and education of members and visitors to the railway.
Its charitable purposes
TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN THE HISTOR AND DEVELOPMENT OF RAILWAY LOCOMOTION BY THE RESTORING TO WORKING ORDER, OPERATING AND MAINTAINING THE HISTORIC RAILWAY LINE OR ANY PART OR PARTS THEREOF BETWEEN PONTYPOOLAND BLAENAVON IN THE COUNTY OF GWENT AND TO PRESERVE ANY BUILDINGS, STRUCTURES OR AMENITIES NECESSARY TO PROTECT AND PRESERVE THE CHARACTER AND AMENITIES OF THE SAID RAILLWAY LINE. (FOR FURTHER DETAILS SEE CLAUSE 3 OF THE MEMORANDUM)
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Blaenau Gwent
- Monmouthshire
- Torfaen
Area of benefit in its governing document: Ponypool and Blaenavon in the County of Gwent
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £377,201 and spent £269,055.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £377,201 | £269,055 | Not reported | 100 |
| 31 December 2024 | £233,847 | £243,375 | Not reported | 129 |
| 31 December 2023 | £241,585 | £267,536 | Not reported | 100 |
| 31 December 2022 | £216,405 | £212,231 | Not reported | 99 |
| 31 December 2021 | £271,584 | £190,090 | Not reported | 162 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 39%, from £271,584 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £377,201 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 71% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
9 trustees run the charity.
- Alex Spencer Gourlay
- Christopher Barnes
- Gareth Ravenhill
- Matthew Stephen Ellis
- Michael Annenberg
- Mr Alex Hinshelwood
- Nathan James Russell
- Robert Potts
- Shakira Mahabir
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 28 October 2026, 3 days early | Received 28 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 29 October 2025, 2 days early | Received 29 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 29 October 2024, 2 days early | Received 29 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 4 April 2024, 156 days late | Received 4 April 2024 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 9 November 2022, 9 days late | Received 9 November 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 514809
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 10 February 1984
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 31 OCTOBER 1983, AMENDED 31/5/98
- Company number
- 01766049This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.pontypool-and-blaenavon.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Torfaen
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.