Shropshire Music Trust
What it does
Advance the education of the public in the art of music and the other arts, in particular by the presentation of public concerts, recitals, lectures, master classes and similar events in Shropshire.
Its charitable purposes
UPON TRUST TO PAY OR APPLY THE WHOLE OF I) THE ANNUAL INCOME OF THE TRUST FUND AND (II) THE CAPITAL OF THE TRUST FUND FOR ADVANCING THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN THE ART OF MUSIC AND THE OTHER ARTS IN SUCH MANNER AS THE TRUSTEES SHALL FROM TIME TO TIME THINK FIT AND IN PARTICULAR BUT ONLY IN FURTHERANCE OF THAT OBJECT BY THE PRESENTATION OF PUBLIC CONCERTS, RECITALS, LECTURES, MASTERCLASSES AND OTHER LIKE EVENTS IN SHREWSBURY AND ITS ENVIRONS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Shropshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: Shrewsbury and Its Environs.
Income and spending
In the year ending 30 June 2025, it had income of £63,657 and spent £64,472.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | £63,657 | £64,472 | Not reported | 8 |
| 30 June 2024 | £61,115 | £51,229 | Not reported | 10 |
| 30 June 2023 | £53,927 | £53,877 | Not reported | 10 |
| 30 June 2022 | £61,387 | £40,314 | Not reported | 10 |
| 30 June 2021 | £22,893 | £12,968 | Not reported | 4 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 178%, from £22,893 in the year to 30 June 2021 to £63,657 in the year to 30 June 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 101% of its income in the year to 30 June 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 30 June 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Dr Jane Margaret PoveyChair
- Andrea P A Belloli
- Caroline Nowotarski
- Christine Lindsey Stephens
- Jane Delyth Elliott
- Katharine Jane Rink
- Roger Harry Terry
- Terence John Lipscombe
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | 30 April 2026 | Received 6 January 2026, 114 days early | Received 6 January 2026 |
| 30 June 2024 | 30 April 2025 | Received 12 March 2025, 49 days early | Received 12 March 2025 |
| 30 June 2023 | 30 April 2024 | Received 30 November 2023, 152 days early | Received 30 November 2023 |
| 30 June 2022 | 30 April 2023 | Received 10 February 2023, 79 days early | Received 10 February 2023 |
| 30 June 2021 | 30 April 2022 | Received 23 February 2022, 66 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 515026
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 12 April 1984
- Governing document
- DECLARATION OF TRUST DATED 22 MARCH 1984 AS AMENDED 29 OCTOBER 1989.
- Website
- www.shropshiremusictrust.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Not matched to a council area
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 18 April 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.