People and Work Unit
What it does
The charity's objects are the advancement of education by carrying out and/or assisting in carrying out research, action and study associated with social and economic disadvantage and to promote education in all matters related to community organisations. The Unit undertakes action research programmes in partnership with community groups focusing on supporting people to gain qualifications.
Its charitable purposes
A) TO ADVANCE EDUCATION BY CARRYING OUT AND/OR ASSISTING IN CARRYING OUT RESEARCH AND STUDY INTO SOCIAL AND ECONOMIC PROBLEMS, FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE GENERAL PUBLIC B) TO PROMOTE EDUCATION IN ALL MATTERS RELATED TO COMMUNITY ORGANISATIONS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: General, But With Particular Reference To the People Gwent (now Monmouthshire, Torfaen, Newport, Blaenau Gwent and Parts of Caerphilly)
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £255,455 and spent £339,214.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £255,455 | £339,214 | Not reported | 35 |
| 31 December 2024 | £457,048 | £513,551 | Not reported | 100 |
| 31 December 2023 | £570,524 | £435,630 | 13 | 35 |
| 31 December 2022 | £575,663 | £557,845 | 12 | 35 |
| 31 December 2021 | £539,401 | £522,815 | 11 | 20 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 53%, from £539,401 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £255,455 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 133% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 40% of its income in the year to 31 December 2024 came from government grants and contracts (£180,740).
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: £77,015 from 3 contracts.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | £77,015 from 3 contracts |
| 31 December 2024 | £39,861 from 1 grant | £140,879 from 2 contracts |
| 31 December 2023 | £23,938 from 1 grant | £184,216 from 5 contracts |
| 31 December 2022 | Not reported | £94,899 from 4 contracts |
| 31 December 2021 | Not reported | £137,461 from 4 contracts |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2023
- Donations and legacies£295,184
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£266,043
- Investments£6,054
Who funds it, according to its accounts
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Moondance Foundation | 30 November 2023 | £35,000 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 24 grants to this charity since 2008, worth at least £1,076,025.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£419,320, 5 grants
- Esmée Fairbairn Foundation£328,907, 3 grants
- Rank Foundation£168,798, 12 grants
- The Tudor Trust£75,000, 1 grant
- Garfield Weston Foundation£45,000, 1 grant
- BBC Children in Need£30,000, 1 grant
- Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales£9,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 14 Nov 2025 | Rank Foundation |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 9 payments to this charity worth £301,715 between 9 July 2021 and 19 December 2025.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £301,715 | 9 | 2021/22, 2022/23, 2023/24, 2025/26 |
Trustees
9 trustees run the charity.
- Claire Betty Vallance
- Claudine Nicola Anderson
- David Rees
- Gerard McHugh
- Jan Louise Huyton
- Philip Glyn Watkins
- Susan Caroline Davies
- Susan Mary Walker
- Tracey Sandra Stanley
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 2 July 2026, 121 days early | Received 2 July 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 3 September 2025, 58 days early | Received 3 September 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 13 September 2024, 48 days early | Received 13 September 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 4 July 2023, 119 days early | Received 3 July 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 24 August 2022, 68 days early | Received 24 August 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 515211
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 13 June 1984
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 17/04/1984AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 20/01/1997AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 05/08/2002AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 08/06/2009AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 10/09/2012
- Company number
- 01809654This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.peopleandwork.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.