Cymdeithas Genedlaethol Hywel Dda
The latest figures on the register are for the year ending 31 December 2024, 22 months ago. Charities must report within 10 months of their year end, so its report for the following year looks overdue.
What it does
TO EDUCATE THE PUBLIC ABOUT THE LIFE AND WORK OF HYWEL DDA, AND THE BODY OF LAW WHICH BEARS HIS NAME. CONTINUALLY DEVELOP THE CENTRE, PROVIDING BETTER FACILITIES (INCLUDING NEW TECHNOLOGY) FOR THE COMMUNITY; HAVING RECENTLY EXTENDED THE BUILDING AND PROVIDING A NEW EXHIBITION ON THE LAWS OF HYWEL. ENCOURAGE LOCAL SCHOOLS TO TAKE PART IN ORGANISED WORKSHOPS & PROJECT WORK, AS WELL AS WELCOME TOURIS
Its charitable purposes
THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC ABOUT THE LIFE AND WORK OF HYWEL DDA AND THE BODY OF LAW WHICH BEARS HIS NAME.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Sponsors or carries out research
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
The register has no income or spending figures for this charity.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £15,777 | £23,401 | Not reported | 3 |
| 31 December 2023 | £11,530 | £11,012 | Not reported | 3 |
| 31 December 2022 | £10,029 | £17,074 | Not reported | 3 |
| 31 December 2021 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 57%, from £10,029 in the year to 31 December 2022 to £15,777 in the year to 31 December 2024.
- Spending against income
- It spent 148% of its income in the year to 31 December 2024. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 3 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2024: £2,000 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2024 | £2,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £2,300 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £8,769 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2006, worth at least £9,179.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£4,738, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£4,441, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 30 Jun 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,738 |
| 18 Jul 2006 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £4,441 |
Trustees
15 trustees run the charity.
- Alice Elonwy John
- Anthony Enfryn Hughes
- Daniel James Roy Llewelyn
- Elonwy Phillips
- Elsa Myfanwy Davies
- George Bancroft
- Ithel Parri-roberts
- Jean Parri-roberts
- John Kenneth Rees
- John Melville Seth Jenkins
- Margarette Sara Gwynne Hughes
- Parch Tom T Defis
- Peter Lord
- Ron Jenkins MBE
- Valerie Davies
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 0 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Not received | No record |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 22 January 2026, 83 days late | Not required |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 24 October 2025, 358 days late | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 20 October 2025, 720 days late | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Not received | No record |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 515245
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 20 June 1984
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 24 APRIL 1984 AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION DATED 11 JUNE 1984.
- Company number
- 01810912This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.hywel-dda.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Carmarthenshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.