Butetown Community Association
What it does
To promote the benefit of the inhabitants of Butetown and the neighbourhood without distinction of sex or of political, religious or other opinions, to advance education and to provide facilities in the interest of social welfare for recreation and leisure time with the object of improving the conditions of life for the said inhabitants.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF BUTETOWN AND THE NEIGHBOURHOOD WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF SEX OR OF POLITICAL RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS BY ASSOCIATING THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES, VOLUNTARY ORGANISATIONS AND INHABITANTS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION AND LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Amateur sport
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Cardiff
Area of benefit in its governing document: Butetown and the Neighbourhood
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £195,989 and spent £209,916.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £195,989 | £209,916 | Not reported | 12 |
| 31 March 2024 | £226,234 | £179,463 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £208,592 | £160,119 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £177,278 | £142,826 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £117,880 | £121,176 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 66%, from £117,880 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £195,989 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 107% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £36,110 from 9 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £36,110 from 9 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £23,679 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Cardiff Third Sector Council (C3sc) | 31 March 2023 | £1,500 |
| Cardiff Third Sector Council (C3sc) | 31 March 2023 | £6,379 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2020, worth at least £32,062.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£17,062, 2 grants
- Community Foundation in Wales£15,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 23 Aug 2023 | Community Foundation in Wales | £15,000 |
| 21 Jun 2023 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £7,063 |
| 22 Jun 2020 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,999 |
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Carlton Peets
- Francine Sanders
- Franklyn Parris
- Gaynor Antionette Legall
- Joseph Brown
- Margaret Lewis
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 30 January 2026, 1 day early | Received 30 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 31 January 2025 | Received 31 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 9 July 2024, 160 days late | Received 9 July 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 20 January 2023, 11 days early | Received 20 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 11 October 2021, 112 days early | Received 11 October 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 524130
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 13 February 1969
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 18 FEBRUARY 1968
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.