Maindy Park
What it does
Sports & Recreation
Its charitable purposes
FOR THE PURPOSES OF BEING PRESERVED KEPT AND USED ONLY AS A PARK OPEN SPACE OR RECREATION OR PLAYGROUND AND IF AND IN SO FAR AS THE CLEAR INCOME OF THE ABOVE-MENTIONED CHARITY IS NOT REQUIRED FOR USE IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE PROVISIONS OF THE ABOVE-MENTIONED CONVEYANCE AND TRUST DEED DATED THE 15TH AUGUST 1922 THE TRUSTEE OR THE CHARITY MAY APPLY THE SAME IN OR TOWARDS THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES FOR RECREATION OR OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF THE CITY OF CARDIFF WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THOSE INHABITANTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Amateur sport
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Cardiff
Area of benefit in its governing document: City of Cardiff
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £3,913 and spent £0.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £3,913 | £0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £3,782 | £11 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £1,659 | £11 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £0 | £11 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £0 | £11 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 136%, from £1,659 in the year to 31 March 2023 to £3,913 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 0% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 3 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
16 June 2026, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Economy & Culture Scrutiny Committee
GLL Better Leisure Contract Monitoring
17 July 2025, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Oral Questions
12 March 2025, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Policy Review and Performance Scrutiny Committee
Trusts Governance
30 January 2025, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Oral Questions
23 January 2025, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Cabinet
Cathays High School Update
14 May 2024, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Economy & Culture Scrutiny Committee
Fields in Trust
28 March 2024, Cardiff
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Oral Questions
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
16 January 2026
Named in a written question from Rhys ab Owen
Addressed to the Cabinet Secretary for Economy, Energy and Planning.
Will the Government consider acknowledging the sporting history and cultural significance of Maindy Park by granting it heritage status in conjunction with the hosting of the 2027 Tour de France? Substantive response.
9 July 2024
Named by Rhys ab Owen in the Senedd
…indy Centre velodrome, the final sporting venue of the 1958 empire games in Cardiff, and a training ground for cyclists such as Geraint Thomas. Maindy park is owned by a charity, of which the council is the sole trustee. Now, arguably, the closure of the velodrome is a breach of the council's powers…
Trustees
1 trustee runs the charity.
- The County Council of the City and County of CardiffOrganisation
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 29 January 2026, 2 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 23 January 2025, 8 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 10 January 2024, 21 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 31 January 2023 | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 19 January 2022, 12 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 524137
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 4 August 1966
- Governing document
- INDENTURE DATED 15 AUGUST 1922 ASAMENDED BY SCHEME OF 10 MARCH 1988
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.
Elsewhere in the Edau family
- OpenCouncil: council records that name this charity
- OpenSenedd: Senedd records that name this charity
- OpenCouncil: Cardiff Council's meetings and decisions
- OpenEconomy: Cardiff's economy in figures
- OpenSenedd: the Members of the Senedd for Caerdydd Ffynnon Taf
- OpenSenedd: the Members of the Senedd for Caerdydd Penarth