Nixon's Workmen's Institute
The latest figures on the register are for the year ending 31 December 2024, 22 months ago. Charities must report within 10 months of their year end, so its report for the following year looks overdue.
What it does
The object of the charity is the provision of a welfare institute for the benifit of the inhabitants of the surrounding communities (and inparticular, but not exclusively, members of the mining community), with the object of improving health and wellbeing of the said inhabitants
Its charitable purposes
THE PROVISION OF A WELFARE INSTITUTE FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS (AND IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY, SUCH OF THE SAID INHABITANTS AS ARE MEMBERS OF THE MINING COMMUNITY) OF THE AREA OF BENEFIT WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Amateur sport
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Area of benefit in its governing document: Mountain Ash
Income and spending
The register has no income or spending figures for this charity.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £3,000 | £1,237 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £4,179 | £1,237 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £11,446 | £7,633 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £26,202 | £25,863 | Not reported | 1 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 89%, from £26,202 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £3,000 in the year to 31 December 2024.
- Spending against income
- It spent 41% of its income in the year to 31 December 2024. It spent less than its income in each of the 4 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 3 grants to this charity since 2013, worth at least £20,000.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 29 Oct 2019 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £10,000 |
| 7 Nov 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
| 21 Mar 2013 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
Trustees
1 trustee runs the charity.
- Martin Ellis
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 2 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Not received | No record |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 30 October 2025, 1 day early | Not required |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 19 July 2024, 104 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 19 July 2024, 262 days late | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 7 March 2023, 127 days late | Received 7 March 2023 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 524196
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 22 August 1967
- Governing document
- SCHEME OF THE CHARITY COMMISSION DATED 19 AUGUST 2009
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.