Neath and District Unit 388 of the Sea Cadet Corps
What it does
We provide young men and women (aged 10 to 18) with opportunities to participate in a wide variety of activities aimed at increasing fitness, team skills and building character, using the Roayl Navy as a model.
Its charitable purposes
The charitable purpose of the Unit (the Purpose) is to promote the development of young people in achieving their physical, intellectual and social potential as individuals and as responsible citizens by the provision of education and leisure time activities using a nautical theme and in accordance with the principles, ethos and practices of the Marine Society & Sea Cadets (MSSC).
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Amateur sport
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £23,588 and spent £16,269.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £23,588 | £16,269 | Not reported | 17 |
| 31 March 2024 | £21,830 | £13,430 | Not reported | 14 |
| 31 March 2023 | £17,690 | £22,619 | Not reported | 15 |
| 31 March 2022 | £16,393 | £31,316 | Not reported | 12 |
| 31 March 2021 | £35,255 | £10,976 | Not reported | 10 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 33%, from £35,255 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £23,588 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 69% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £22,000 from 6 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Debbie BoyceChair
- Christopher James
- Daniella Louise Morris
- Gareth Rice
- Ronald Bryn John
- Sarah Margaret Davies
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 15 January 2026, 16 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 21 January 2025, 10 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 25 January 2024, 6 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 17 December 2022, 45 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 19 December 2021, 43 days early | Received 19 December 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 524201
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 14 May 1964
- Governing document
- SEA CADET REGULATIONS
- Website
- www.neathseacadets.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Neath Port Talbot
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.