Porthcawl Unit 438 of the Sea Cadet Corps
What it does
Providing training for young people between the ages of 10 to 18 with a nautical flavour based on the discipline and tradition of the Royal Navy.
Its charitable purposes
The charitable purpose of the Unit (the Purpose) is to promote the development of young people in achieving their physical, intellectual and social potential as individuals and as responsible citizens by the provision of education and leisure time activities using a nautical theme and in accordance with the principles, ethos and practices of the Marine Society & Sea Cadets (MSSC).
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Amateur sport
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Bridgend
Area of benefit in its governing document: Porthcawl and District
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2026, it had income of £8,679 and spent £7,466.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £8,679 | £7,466 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2025 | £7,169 | £14,314 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £7,535 | £10,413 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £7,059 | £9,321 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £13,355 | £16,328 | Not reported | 20 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 35%, from £13,355 in the year to 31 March 2022 to £8,679 in the year to 31 March 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 86% of its income in the year to 31 March 2026. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2016, worth at least £53,450.
By funder
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£50,000, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Community Fund£3,450, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 12 Dec 2016 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £50,000 |
| 1 Nov 2016 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £3,450 |
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Giulian HillChair
- Dorian Morgan
- Kevin Gould
- Peter Rees
- Sharon Morgan
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | 31 January 2027 | Received 31 August 2026, 153 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 26 August 2025, 158 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 5 September 2024, 148 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 16 December 2023, 46 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 26 June 2022, 219 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 524225
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 12 December 1963
- Governing document
- SEA CADET REGULATIONS
- Website
- www.porthcawlseacadets.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Bridgend
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.