Cymdeithas Gymunedol Y Bala a Phenllyn / Bala & Penllyn Community Association
What it does
1) Community activities and experiences 2) Provides a base for community groups and activities3) Improves physical, mental, social and emotional welfare for all, enabling all residents to thrive.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF BALA AND PENLLYN BY PROVIDING FACILITES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION AND LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS AND IN PARTICULAR TO:- 1. IMPROVE AND EXTEND EXISTING PLAYING AND RECREATIONAL FACILITES, 2. ENCOURAGE ALL FORMS OF RECREATIONAL ACTIVITIES, 3. MANAGE, MAINTAIN AND IMPROVE PLAY AREAS ESTABLISHED, AND TO RAISE MONEYS FOR THESE PURPOSES, 4. ACQUIRE LAND FOR THE PURPOSE OF OUTDOOR GAMES, SPORTS AND PASTIMES
Causes
- What it works on
- Health and saving lives
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Recreation
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Gwynedd
Area of benefit in its governing document: Bala Urban District and Penllyn Rural District
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £49,538 and spent £45,747.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £49,538 | £45,747 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 March 2024 | £50,913 | £24,502 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 March 2023 | £69,285 | £62,909 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 March 2022 | £23,923 | £29,090 | Not reported | 30 |
| 31 March 2021 | £81,470 | £74,529 | Not reported | 30 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 39%, from £81,470 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £49,538 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 92% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £3,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £34,047 from 8 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £1,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £23,000 from 6 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2004, worth at least £52,176.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 27 Nov 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £50,000 |
| 29 Jun 2004 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £2,176 |
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Carol Davies
- Gwyndaf Hughes
- Linda Williams
- Lorraine Rees Pritchard
- Nigel John Aykroyd
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 27 January 2026, 4 days early | Received 27 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 23 January 2025, 8 days early | Received 23 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 22 February 2024, 22 days late | Received 29 February 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 10 January 2023, 21 days early | Not required |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 27 January 2022, 4 days early | Received 27 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 524276
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 21 February 1969
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 24 SEPTEMBER 1968 as amended on 26 Jun 2021
- Council area of its contact address
- Gwynedd
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.