Cwmcarn and Abercarn Library and Institute
What it does
We aim provide a Village Hall within the community where each and every member of the surrounding area can socialise in a safe, comfortable and happy environment.
Its charitable purposes
THE PROVISION AND MAINTENANCE OF A VILLAGE HALL FOR USE BY THE INHABITANTS OF THE AREA OF BENEFIT WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS INCLUDING USE MEETINGS, LECTURES AND CLASSES AND OTHER FORMS OF RECREATION AND LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION WITH TH OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE INHABITANTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Amateur sport
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Cwmcarn and Abercarn and the Surrounding Neighbourhood
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £18,275 and spent £15,600.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £18,275 | £15,600 | Not reported | 12 |
| 31 December 2024 | £13,211 | £14,144 | Not reported | 2 |
| 31 December 2023 | £13,211 | £14,144 | Not reported | 2 |
| 31 December 2022 | £9,210 | £10,151 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £8,683 | £12,000 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 110%, from £8,683 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £18,275 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 85% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £18,681, awarded in 2026.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 30 Sept 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £18,681 |
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Ceri Morris
- Kate Morris
- Kieron Bartlett
- Vivien Julie Morris
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 27 July 2026, 96 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 19 September 2025, 42 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 10 October 2024, 21 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 30 October 2023, 1 day early | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 13 October 2022, 18 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 524305
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 18 December 1963
- Governing document
- SCHEME OF THE COMMISSIONERS DATED 15 MARCH 1999
- Council area of its contact address
- Caerphilly
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.