The Robert David Hughes Scholarship Foundation
What it does
Grants awarded to university students having certain connections with the community of Denbigh.
Its charitable purposes
PROVISION OF SCHOLARSHIPS AT ANY UNIVERSITY IN THE UNITED KINGDOM OF GREAT BRITAIN AND NORTHERN IRELAND FOR THE BENEFIT OF SCHOLARS BORN IN THE BENEFICIAL AREA.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
Where it works
- In Wales
- Conwy
- Denbighshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: Former Borough of Denbigh
Income and spending
In the year ending 30 September 2025, it had income of £23,673 and spent £21,544.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2025 | £23,673 | £21,544 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2024 | £22,701 | £19,302 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2023 | £21,487 | £15,704 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2022 | £19,388 | £14,547 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2021 | £17,291 | £23,384 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 37%, from £17,291 in the year to 30 September 2021 to £23,673 in the year to 30 September 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 91% of its income in the year to 30 September 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 30 September 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 September 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Janie Wynne Smith DL MBEChair
- John Richard Gardner
- medwyn jones
- Nia Catrin Lyon
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 September 2025 | 30 July 2026 | Received 15 May 2026, 76 days early | Not required |
| 30 September 2024 | 30 July 2025 | Received 16 March 2025, 136 days early | Not required |
| 30 September 2023 | 30 July 2024 | Received 11 June 2024, 49 days early | Not required |
| 30 September 2022 | 30 July 2023 | Received 5 December 2022, 237 days early | Not required |
| 30 September 2021 | 30 July 2022 | Received 20 November 2021, 252 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 525404
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 19 March 1964
- Governing document
- CHANCERY COURT SCHEME DATED 26 JUNE 1952 AS AMENDED BY SCHEME OF 17 MAY 1979.
- Council area of its contact address
- Conwy
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.