Cowbridge School Trust
What it does
The trust income is paid to the Sir Thomas Mansel Franklen Trust which provides special benefits over and above that provided by the Local Education Authority to Cowbridge Comprehensive School and may provide grants to pupils and former pupils. Trust land remaining is held to be used for the purposes of the School.
Its charitable purposes
TO AUGMENT THE EXISTING FUNDS OF THE SIR THOMAS MANSEL FRANKLEN TRUST IN ONE OR MORE OF THE FOLLOWING WAYS: (1) IN PROVIDING FOR THE COWBRIDGE COMPREHENSIVE SCHOOL SPECIAL BENEFITS OF ANY KIND NOT NORMALLY PROVIDED BY THE LOCAL EDUCATION AUTHORITY. (2) IN PROMOTING THE EDUCATION, INCLUDING SOCIAL AND PHYSICAL TRAINING, OF PERSONS WHO ARE OR WERE PUPILS AT THE SAID SCHOOL AND WHO ARE IN NEED OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Who it helps
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- How it works
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Vale of Glamorgan
Area of benefit in its governing document: The Catchment Area of Cowbridge Comprehensive School
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £165,229 and spent £283,747.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £165,229 | £283,747 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £106,250 | £109,429 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £173,488 | £65,639 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £40,266 | £59,321 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £55,528 | £40,426 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 198%, from £55,528 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £165,229 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 172% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Geoffrey Bennett Reed
- Hilary Drew
- Katherine Elizabeth Kennedy
- Morgan Smith
- Sarah Smith
- Steven Robert Blackman
- Terrie Vaughan-Taylor
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 12 January 2026, 19 days early | Received 14 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 14 January 2025, 17 days early | Received 14 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 25 May 2024, 115 days late | Received 25 May 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 26 October 2022, 97 days early | Received 26 October 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 20 October 2021, 103 days early | Received 20 October 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 525559
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 24 November 1966
- Governing document
- SCHEME DATED 09 OCT 1919AS AMENDED BY SCHEME DATED 18 OCT 1951AS AMENDED BY SCHEME DATED 09 MAR 1983AS AMENDED BY SCHEME DATED 17 AUG 2001AS AMENDED BY RESOLUTION DATED 17 DEC 2014AS AMENDED BY RESOLUTION DATED 28 FEB 2020AS AMENDED BY RESOLUTION DATED 01 JUL 2025
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.