James Powell's Educational Foundation
What it does
Provides grants to students in post 16 education. Recipients must be resident in the Parish of Llantilio Crossenny.
Its charitable purposes
AWARD TO BENEFICIARIES OF (A) SCHOLARSHIPS, BURSARIES, MAINTENANCE ALLOWANCES AT ANY SCHOOL, UNIVERSITY OR OTHER PLACE OF LEARNING. (B) FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE, OUTFITS, TOOLS, ETC. TO ENABLE THEM TO PREPARE FOR, OR TO ASSIST THEIR ENTRY INTO A PROFESSION, TRADE OR CALLING, OR LEAVING SCHOOL OR OTHER EDUCATIONAL ESTABLISHMENT. (C) ASSISTING THE ADVANCEMENT BY MEANS OF A LIBRARY AND THE PROVISION OF AMENITIES FOR THE SOCIAL AND PHYSICAL TRAINING IN THE DAY OR EVENING OF BENEFICIARIES. (D) IN OTHERWISE PROMOTING THEIR EDUCATION. BENEFICIARIES MEANS BOYS AND GIRLS RESIDENT IN THE BENEFICIAL AREA WHO ARE IN NEED OF FINANCIAL ASSISTANCE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
Where it works
- In Wales
- Monmouthshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: The Ancient Parish of Llantilio Crossenny
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £5,179 and spent £4,200.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £5,179 | £4,200 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £5,589 | £7,825 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £4,336 | £0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £4,376 | £3,625 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £4,405 | £4,150 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 18%, from £4,405 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £5,179 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 81% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Tony Melvyn WatkinsChair
- Ann Couldwell
- Colin Ellaway
- Lyndon Harry Trumper
- Rev Heidi Prince
- Ruth Hoggins
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 21 October 2026, 10 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 26 October 2025, 5 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 31 October 2024 | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 9 January 2024, 70 days late | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 18 December 2022, 48 days late | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 525640
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 12 November 1965
- Governing document
- SCHEME DATED 5 DECEMBER 1956
- Council area of its contact address
- Monmouthshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.