Coleg y Bedyddwyr Caerdydd / Cardiff Baptist College
What it does
The advancement of the Christian Religion in accordance with the beliefs and practices of Baptists and the interpretation of such beliefs and practices and in particular the training of students for ministry amongst the Baptist churches. To provide education, training, vocational preparation and support to Christians for mission and ministry.
Its charitable purposes
THE PROVISION OF A PRIZE TO BE AWARDED EVERY THIRD YEAR TO A PAST OR PRESENT STUDENT OF THE COLLEGE FOR WRITTEN WORK IN THE FIELD OF PASTORAL STUDIES.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Accommodation and housing
- Religious activities
- Who it helps
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to individuals
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 August 2025, it had income of £0 and spent £2,876,893.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | £0 | £2,876,893 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2024 | £707,996 | £624,125 | 11 | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | £628,929 | £619,858 | 10 | Not reported |
| 31 August 2022 | £575,846 | £433,718 | 8 | Not reported |
| 31 August 2021 | £429,787 | £384,742 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 65%, from £429,787 in the year to 31 August 2021 to £707,996 in the year to 31 August 2024.
- Spending against income
- It spent 88% of its income in the year to 31 August 2024. It spent less than its income in each of the 4 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Griffiths Trust gave £260,804 in the year to 31 August 2024, 37% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 August 2024: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 August 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 August 2024
- Donations and legacies£362,448
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£224,763
- Investments£117,494
- Other£3,291
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 August 2024, the charity named 2 funders who gave £267,471 between them. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Aug 2024 | Aug 2023 | Aug 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Griffiths Trust | Trust, company or other | £260,804 | £287,385 | £245,405 |
| ECLAS Science for Seminaries | Trust, company or other | £6,667 | ||
| Church donations | Trust, company or other | £31,382 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Rev Sarah Louise ButtChair
- Cedric Longville
- Rev DENZIL IEUAN JOHN
- Rev EDWARD NOBLE KANEEN
- Rev TIMOTHY IAN MOODY
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 August 2025 | 30 June 2026 | Received 29 June 2026, 1 day early | Not required |
| 31 August 2024 | 30 June 2025 | Received 30 June 2025 | Received 30 June 2025 |
| 31 August 2023 | 30 June 2024 | Received 27 June 2024, 3 days early | Received 27 June 2024 |
| 31 August 2022 | 30 June 2023 | Received 29 June 2023, 1 day early | Received 29 June 2023 |
| 31 August 2021 | 30 June 2022 | Received 23 June 2022, 7 days early | Received 23 June 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 525777
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 2 February 1967
- Governing document
- LETTER DATED 23 NOVEMBER 1966
- Website
- www.swbc.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.