1st Cowbridge Scout Group
What it does
Providing Scouting for Children 6-14Years old
Its charitable purposes
THE INSTRUCTION OF BOYS OF ALL CLASSES IN THE PRINCIPLES OF DISCIPLINE, LOYALTY AND GOOD CITIZENSHIP.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Recreation
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- How it works
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Vale of Glamorgan
Area of benefit in its governing document: Cowbridge and District
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £42,954 and spent £38,662.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £42,954 | £38,662 | Not reported | 15 |
| 31 December 2024 | £39,280 | £39,679 | Not reported | 15 |
| 31 December 2023 | £43,783 | £28,898 | Not reported | 15 |
| 31 December 2022 | £24,994 | £26,913 | Not reported | 15 |
| 31 December 2021 | £19,187 | £20,903 | Not reported | 15 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 124%, from £19,187 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £42,954 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 90% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £14,159 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £14,159 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £2,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £10,000 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 2 payments to this charity worth £28,318 between 18 March 2025 and 18 March 2025.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Vale of Glamorgan Council | £28,318 | 2 | 2024/25 |
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Peter GardnerChair
- Catherine White
- Christine Ann Austin Mallett
- Gethin Charles
- Jean Downing
- Piers Hallihan
- Samantha Tanguay
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 14 July 2026, 109 days early | Received 14 July 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 27 May 2025, 157 days early | Received 27 May 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 3 September 2024, 58 days early | Received 3 September 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 20 June 2023, 133 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 6 September 2022, 55 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 701412
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 10 April 1989
- Governing document
- ROYAL CHARTER GRANTED 04 JAN 1912AS AMENDED ON 18 OCT 2016
- Council area of its contact address
- Bridgend
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.