Gwent Family History Society
What it does
We provide education and training in the techniques of family history research. We encourage the conservation of documents and structures, which record details of social and family history. We sponsor and provide volunteers to undertake research into such documents and thereby act as an umbrella or resource body.
Its charitable purposes
A TO PROMOTE AND ENCOURAGE THE PUBLIC STUDY OF BRITISH FAMILY HISTORY, GENEALOGY, HERALDRY AND LOCAL HISTORY WITH PARTICULAR REFERENCE TOE TH COUNTY OF GWENT. B TO PROMOTE THE PRESERVATION, SECURITY AND ACCESSABILITY OF ARCHIVAL MATERIAL.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Blaenau Gwent
- Caerphilly
- Monmouthshire
- Newport City
- Torfaen
Area of benefit in its governing document: County of Gwent and Elsewhere
Income and spending
In the year ending 30 June 2025, it had income of £6,886 and spent £5,361.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | £6,886 | £5,361 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2024 | £7,684 | £7,646 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2023 | £6,770 | £4,745 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2022 | £5,357 | £3,685 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 30 June 2021 | £5,555 | £3,375 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 24%, from £5,555 in the year to 30 June 2021 to £6,886 in the year to 30 June 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 78% of its income in the year to 30 June 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £4,580, awarded in 2000.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 24 Jan 2000 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £4,580 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 20 payments to this charity worth £106 between 12 October 2020 and 14 April 2026.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monmouthshire County Council | £106 | 20 | 2020/21, 2021/22, 2022/23, 2023/24, 2024/25, 2025/26, 2026/27 |
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Fay ParryChair
- Claire Otton
- Jennifer Mullen
- Joan Daniels
- Keith Daniels
- Malcolm Leslie Otton
- Nicola Ann Thomas
- Norman Geoffrey Excell
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 30 June 2025 | 30 April 2026 | Received 26 January 2026, 94 days early | Not required |
| 30 June 2024 | 30 April 2025 | Received 22 January 2025, 98 days early | Not required |
| 30 June 2023 | 30 April 2024 | Received 21 June 2024, 52 days late | Not required |
| 30 June 2022 | 30 April 2023 | Received 15 March 2023, 46 days early | Not required |
| 30 June 2021 | 30 April 2022 | Received 4 February 2022, 85 days early | Not required |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 702333
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 15 January 1990
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 03/10/1998AS AMENDED ON 02/11/2002AS AMENDED ON 30/10/2003AS AMENDED ON 20/10/2012AS AMENDED ON 15 OCT 2016
- Website
- gwentfhs.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Newport
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.