Harlech Library and Institute
What it does
Management of The old Library and Institute in Harlech and the promotion of activities that facilitate the use of the building for the benefit of the community
Its charitable purposes
1. THE OBJECT OF THE CHARITY SHALL BE THE PROVISION AND MAINTENANCE OF A VILLAGE HALL FOR THE USE OF THE INHABITANTS OF THE COMMUNITY OF HARLECH (HEREINAFTER CALLED "THE AREA OF BENEFIT") WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS, INCLUDING USE FOR MEETINGS, LECTURES AND CLASSES,AND FOR OTHER FORMS OF RECREATION AND LEISURE-TIME OCCUPATION, WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE SAID INHABITANTS. 2. THE SAID LAND AND BUILDING SHALL BE HELD UPON TRUST FOR THE PURPOSES OF A VILLAGE HALL AS AFORESAID.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Recreation
- Other charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- Gwynedd
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £33,811 and spent £32,819.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £33,811 | £32,819 | Not reported | 36 |
| 31 December 2024 | £30,060 | £20,750 | Not reported | 36 |
| 31 December 2023 | £12,321 | £8,396 | Not reported | 36 |
| 31 December 2022 | £21,545 | £22,616 | Not reported | 32 |
| 31 December 2021 | £33,925 | £43,312 | Not reported | 32 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- About the same: £33,811 in the year to 31 December 2025, against £33,925 in the year to 31 December 2021.
- Spending against income
- It spent 97% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £2,000 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £2,000 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £10,560 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | £3,266 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £4,000 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £11,500 from 3 grants | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2021, worth at least £14,200.
By funder
- The Clothworkers' Foundation£7,400, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£6,800, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 7 Mar 2024 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £6,800 |
| 8 Jun 2021 | The Clothworkers' Foundation | £7,400 |
Trustees
2 trustees run the charity.
- Harlech Community CouncilOrganisation
- Reginald Charles Chapman
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 25 September 2026, 36 days early | Received 25 September 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 18 September 2025, 43 days early | Received 18 September 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 15 September 2024, 46 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 23 May 2023, 161 days early | Not required |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 27 September 2022, 34 days early | Received 27 September 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 702412
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 10 January 1990
- Governing document
- INDENTURE DATED 15 SEPTEMBER 1908 AND AMENDED BY SCHEME SEALED 21 JULY 1992.
- Council area of its contact address
- Gwynedd
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.