The Primrose Trust
What it does
The principle objectives of the Trust are to make donations and grants to such charitable institutions or authorities in such a manner as the Trustees may in their absolute discretion think fit
Its charitable purposes
FOR SUCH CHARITABLE PURPOSES AS THE TRUSTEES MAY DETERMINE, HAVING REGARD TO THE DIRECTIONS OF THE SETTLOR DURING HIS LIFETIME. FOR FURTHER DETAILS, SEE TRUST DEED.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Animals
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to organisations
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 5 April 2025, it had income of £121,358 and spent £144,529.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 5 April 2025 | £121,358 | £144,529 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 5 April 2024 | £144,461 | £155,520 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 5 April 2023 | £143,572 | £160,695 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 5 April 2022 | £131,824 | £160,298 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 5 April 2021 | £119,187 | £145,795 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- About the same: £121,358 in the year to 5 April 2025, against £119,187 in the year to 5 April 2021.
- Spending against income
- It spent 119% of its income in the year to 5 April 2025. It spent more than its income in 5 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 5 April 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 5 April 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 5 April 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 5 April 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Trustees
2 trustees run the charity.
- Malcolm Gordon Clark
- Susan Marie Boyes-korkis
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 5 April 2025 | 5 February 2026 | Received 29 January 2026, 7 days early | Received 29 January 2026 |
| 5 April 2024 | 5 February 2025 | Received 6 February 2025, 1 day late | Received 6 February 2025 |
| 5 April 2023 | 5 February 2024 | Received 25 March 2024, 49 days late | Received 25 March 2024 |
| 5 April 2022 | 5 February 2023 | Received 5 February 2023 | Received 5 February 2023 |
| 5 April 2021 | 5 February 2022 | Received 4 February 2022, 1 day early | Received 4 February 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 800049
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 7 September 1988
- Governing document
- TRUST DEED DATED 4TH SEPTEMBER 1986
- Council area of its contact address
- Cardiff
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.