Cyngor ar Bopeth Ceredigion Citizens' Advice Bureau
What it does
The Bureau is for the benefit of the community in the county of Ceredigion and aims to ensure that individuals do not suffer through lack of knowledge of their rights and responsibilities or of the services available to them or through an inability to express their needs effectively. The service is free, confidential, independent and impartial and offered to anyone in need of advice.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE ANY CHARITABLE PURPOSE FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT BY THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION, THE PROTECTION AND PRESERVATION OF HEALTH AND THE RELIEF OF POVERTY, SICKNESS AND DISTRESS FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE WHOLE OF WALES, IN PARTICULAR, BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COMMUNITY IN CEREDIGION AND SURROUNDING AREAS
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Wales, in Particular Ceredigion and Surrounding Area.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £649,120 and spent £653,464.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £649,120 | £653,464 | 18 | 15 |
| 31 March 2024 | £729,435 | £620,392 | 19 | 17 |
| 31 March 2023 | £480,729 | £572,912 | Not reported | 12 |
| 31 March 2022 | £641,398 | £616,240 | 20 | 12 |
| 31 March 2021 | £626,773 | £513,662 | 17 | 1 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 4%, from £626,773 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £649,120 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 101% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Ceredigion County Council gave £104,767 in the year to 31 March 2025, 16% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £369,862 from 3 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £369,862 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £151,806 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £131,956 from 10 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £637,054 from 25 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £418,939 from 21 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2025
- Donations and legacies£9,985
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£559,681
- Investments£3,068
- Other£76,386
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2025, the charity named 9 funders who gave £310,830 between them. £163,423 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ceredigion County Council | Council | £104,767 | £151,806 | |
| Citizens Advice | Trust, company or other | £69,245 | £198,965 | £15,000 |
| The National Lottery Community Fund | National Lottery | £50,534 | £37,501 | |
| Moondance | Trust, company or other | £41,479 | £41,500 | |
| Energy Savings Trust | Trust, company or other | £24,869 | ||
| Pembrokeshire County Council | Council | £8,122 | ||
| Pembrokeshire Citizen's Advice Bureau | Trust, company or other | £6,720 | £5,000 | |
| Powys Citizen's Advice Bureau | Trust, company or other | £5,094 | £5,784 | |
| Advicelink | Trust, company or other | £257,814 | ||
| CAVO | Trust, company or other | £23,186 | ||
| Western Power Distribution | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | ||
| Energy Savings Trust Vouchers | Trust, company or other | £1,213 | ||
| Community Cohesion Small Grants Scheme | Trust, company or other | £1,166 | ||
| Aberystwyth Town Council | Council | £1,000 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 4 grants to this charity since 2008, worth at least £630,429.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£586,929, 2 grants
- Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales£43,500, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 29 May 2014 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £28,500 |
| 23 Jun 2010 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £15,000 |
| 11 Mar 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £49,222 |
| 9 Apr 2008 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £537,707 |
Trustees
4 trustees run the charity.
- Susan Elizabeth ChambersChair
- Clive Davies
- David Griffith Michael James
- Stephen Philip Stratton
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 2 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 31 July 2026, 181 days late | Received 31 July 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 15 April 2025, 74 days late | Received 15 April 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 18 December 2023, 44 days early | Received 22 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 2 March 2023, 30 days late | Received 2 March 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 26 January 2022, 5 days early | Received 26 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1061839
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 14 April 1997
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 27/03/1997AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 01/03/1997AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 21/02/2011AS REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 09/03/2011AS AMENDED BY CERTIFICATE OF INCORPORATION ON CHANGE OF NAME DATED 09/03/2011AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 16 OCT 2017 as amended on 16 Feb 2024
- Company number
- 03341148This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.cabceredigion.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Ceredigion
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.