Toogoodtowaste Limited
What it does
The charity exists to assist with the relief of poverty:1. Providing access to affordable household items.2. Reducing waste to landfill through recycling of items that would otherwise be thrown away and by advancing more sustainable waste management practices.3. Through training and work based learning.Community regeneration through waste minimisation
Its charitable purposes
1) TO ASSIST WITH THE RELIEF OF POVERTY BY HELPING TO MEET THE FURNITURE AND HOUSEHOLD NEEDS OF PEOPLE ON LOW INCOME BY, BUT NOT LIMITED TO, RECYCLING FURNITURE WHICH WOULD OTHERWISE BE THROWN AWAY AND ADVANCING MORE SUSTAINABLE WASTE MANAGEMENT PRACTISES2) TO ADVANCE THE DEVELOPMENT AND EDUCATION OF PEOPLE BY PROVIDING OPPORTUNITIES TO VOLUNTEER AND TO TRAIN, SO AS TO DEVELOP WORK SKILLS AND SOCIAL SKILLS, GAIN WORK EXPERIENCE AND ENCOURAGE SOCIAL INTEGRATION
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Accommodation and housing
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £1,602,632 and spent £1,467,295.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £1,602,632 | £1,467,295 | 28 | 130 |
| 31 December 2024 | £1,182,274 | £1,256,913 | 28 | 130 |
| 31 December 2023 | £1,189,610 | £1,298,315 | 32 | 123 |
| 31 December 2022 | £1,309,193 | £1,377,477 | 39 | 119 |
| 31 December 2021 | £1,199,910 | £1,309,376 | 35 | 86 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 34%, from £1,199,910 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £1,602,632 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 92% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 4 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- RCT Environmental services gave £20,000 in the year to 31 December 2025, 1% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2022 | £88,380 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £36,520 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2025
- Donations and legacies£9,774
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£1,584,513
- Investments£8,345
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2025, the charity named 4 funders who gave £39,852 between them. £8,190 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| RCT Environmental services | Trust, company or other | £20,000 | £20,000 | £20,000 |
| Moondance | Trust, company or other | £10,662 | ||
| UK Government | UK Government | £8,190 | ||
| Neighbourly | Trust, company or other | £1,000 | ||
| Pen Y Cymoedd Wind Farm | Trust, company or other |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 8 grants to this charity since 2005, worth at least £1,432,485.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£1,307,485, 6 grants
- Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales£125,000, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 16 Oct 2018 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £75,000 |
| 9 Aug 2018 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,400 |
| 26 Jul 2017 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £500,000 |
| 16 Mar 2016 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £50,000 |
| 5 Oct 2011 | The National Lottery Community Fund |
Trustees
11 trustees run the charity.
- Malcolm GayChair
- Dave Henderson
- David Lewis
- Jeffrey Matthews
- Kelvin Jones
- Martyn Birch
- Michael Haydn Bryan
- NATASHA Lewis
- Phillip John Moss
- Rowena Williams
- Theodore Clement Gray
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 14 September 2026, 47 days early | Received 14 September 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 23 September 2025, 38 days early | Received 23 September 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 24 October 2024, 7 days early | Received 24 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 2 October 2023, 29 days early | Received 2 October 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 20 October 2022, 11 days early | Received 20 October 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1064588
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 25 September 1997
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 02 DEC 1996AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 17 JUL 1997AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 27 SEP 1999AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 10 JUL 2007AS AMENDED BY CERTIFICATE OF INCORPORATION ON CHANGE OF NAME DATED 01 JUN 2017 as amended on 14 Nov 2022
- Company number
- 03286173This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.toogoodtowaste.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Rhondda Cynon Taf
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.