Cartref Ni Limited
What it does
PROVIDE DOMICILIARY SUPPORT TO VULNERABLE ADULTS IN THEIR OWN HOME
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE CHOICE AND INDEPENDENCE OF PEOPLE WITH LEARNING AND/OR PHYSICAL DISABILITIES, AND THE RELIEF OF SICKNESS AND POVERTY OF ELDERLY PEOPLE AND OTHER PEOPLE IN NEED IN NORTH WALES IN PARTICULAR THROUGH THE PROVISION OF SUPPORT SERVICES IN A PERSON'S HOME THUS ENABLING THEM TO LIVE IN THE COMMUNITY RATHER THAN IN INSTITUTIONAL CARE
Causes
- What it works on
- Disability
- Who it helps
- Disabled people
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Conwy
- Denbighshire
- Flintshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: North Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 22 March 2025, it had income of £5,545,248 and spent £5,415,668.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 22 March 2025 | £5,545,248 | £5,415,668 | 147 | Not reported |
| 23 March 2024 | £5,181,310 | £5,103,435 | 149 | Not reported |
| 25 March 2023 | £4,857,735 | £4,693,825 | 142 | Not reported |
| 19 March 2022 | £4,142,920 | £3,978,544 | 143 | Not reported |
| 20 March 2021 | £4,021,533 | £3,772,639 | 142 | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 38%, from £4,021,533 in the year to 20 March 2021 to £5,545,248 in the year to 22 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 98% of its income in the year to 22 March 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 99% of its income in the year to 23 March 2024 came from government grants and contracts (£5,144,616).
- Largest funder
- Welsh Government gave £252,979 in the year to 25 March 2023, 5% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 22 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: £5,492,385 from 20 contracts.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 22 March 2025 | Not reported | £5,492,385 from 20 contracts |
| 23 March 2024 | £4,607 from 1 grant | £5,140,009 from 20 contracts |
| 25 March 2023 | £297,174 from 3 grants | £4,555,993 from 20 contracts |
| 19 March 2022 | £239,049 from 4 grants | £3,902,903 from 20 contracts |
| 20 March 2021 | £261,503 from 3 grants | £3,759,407 from 19 contracts |
Where its income came from in the year ending 22 March 2025
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£5,492,385
- Investments£52,863
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 25 March 2023, the charity named 2 funders who gave £288,781 between them. £252,979 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2023 |
|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | Welsh Government | £252,979 |
| Government Covid Wage Cost Grants | Trust, company or other | £35,802 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
24 February 2026
Named by Janet Finch-Saunders in the Senedd
…ai hi gymryd sawl wythnos o ffeirio rhwng yr awdurdod lleol a'r darparwr cartref gofal i ganiatáu iddyn nhw fynd â'r preswylydd hwnnw yn ôl i'w cartref. Ni all hynny fod yn iawn. Mae angen y cyd-fynd cyfunol hwn rhwng iechyd a gofal cymdeithasol, ac nid yw hynny'n digwydd mewn gwirionedd, ac felly y…
1 October 2025
Named by Joel James in the Senedd
…n cystadlu am yr un cynefin a ffynhonnell fwyd. Yn olaf, gallai problemau cynllunio posib godi yn nes ymlaen. Os oes gennych adar nythu yn eich cartref, ni allwch gael gwared arnynt os ydych chi am adeiladu estyniad neu wneud gwaith cynnal a chadw. Ar gyfer adeiladau newydd, ni fydd hyn yn achosi tr…
22 October 2024
Named by Buffy Williams in the Senedd
…yn anochel yn cael eu lleoli ymhellach i ffwrdd o'u cartrefi. Yn ail, cyn gynted ag y byddwch chi'n gosod plentyn y tu allan i'w awdurdod lleol cartref, ni waeth pa mor agos yw'r lleoliad hwnnw'n ddaearyddol, mae'n rhaid i ddau awdurdod lleol rannu gwybodaeth am y plentyn—dwy adran gwasanaethau plan…
29 June 2023
Named by Yr Athro Dyfed Huws in the Senedd
…eraill—y prif rai, sef y groth a cheg y groth—ddim yn rhan o'r ymchwil penodol yna. Beth fedrai ei ddweud hefyd yw, dros amser, mae'n hystadegau cartref ni yng Nghymru yn dangos er bod cyfraddau goroesi canser y groth wedi bod yn gwella cryn dipyn hyd at ganol y degawd diwethaf, ers hynny, tua hynny…
28 June 2023
Named by Mabon ap Gwynfor in the Senedd
…diffyg hyd yn oed yn fwy. A Chymru sydd â'r stoc dai hynaf yng ngorllewin Ewrop. Mae perygl categori 1 yn bresennol mewn oddeutu un o bob pump cartref. Ni all pobl hŷn fforddio cadw eu cartrefi'n rhydd rhag peryglon, ac mae'r pwysau ychwanegol hyn yn disgyn ar sefydliadau fel Gofal a Thrwsio. Roedd…
27 June 2023
Named by Heledd Fychan in the Senedd
…n yn y maes hwn er mwyn i ni weld datblygiadau? Roedd Alun Davies a Llyr yn sôn pa mor bwysig oedd o ein bod ni'n cael y dyfeisiadau sydd yn ein cartref ni—ie, chwe blynedd yn ôl—yn siarad Cymraeg.
11 September 2022
Named by Darren Millar in the Senedd
…darllen am ei bywyd hi'n fynych—ac wrth i ni brofi hapusrwydd a thristwch yn ein bywyd teuluol—yn gwneud iddi deimlo fel petai hithau'n rhan o'n cartref ni, a bod gennym ni gysylltiad agos â hi—y cysylltiad personol hwnnw y mae Aelodau eraill o'r Senedd wedi sôn amdano. Do, wrth gwrs, fe wnaeth hi s…
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Valerie HawkerChair
- Alison Brebner
- Gavin Robert Coates
- Helen Jane Brown
- Mark Ian Roberts
- Susan Anne Ridings
- Tricia Bochenski
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 22 March 2025 | 22 January 2026 | Received 15 December 2025, 38 days early | Received 15 December 2025 |
| 23 March 2024 | 23 January 2025 | Received 12 November 2024, 72 days early | Received 12 November 2024 |
| 25 March 2023 | 25 January 2024 | Received 10 November 2023, 76 days early | Received 10 November 2023 |
| 19 March 2022 | 19 January 2023 | Received 2 December 2022, 48 days early | Received 2 December 2022 |
| 20 March 2021 | 20 January 2022 | Received 10 January 2022, 10 days early | Received 10 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1071424
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 8 September 1998
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 14/03/1991AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 29/07/1998AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 06/08/1998AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 20/10/2005AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 31/10/2011AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 25/11/2011
- Company number
- 02591631This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.cartrefni.com
- Council area of its contact address
- Denbighshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.
Elsewhere in the Edau family
- OpenSenedd: Senedd records that name this charity
- OpenCouncil: Denbighshire Council's meetings and decisions
- OpenEconomy: Denbighshire's economy in figures
- OpenSenedd: the Members of the Senedd for Clwyd
- OpenSenedd: the Members of the Senedd for Bangor Conwy Môn
- OpenSenedd: the Members of the Senedd for Gwynedd Maldwyn