Medrwn Mon
What it does
The aim of Medrwn Mon is to promote and support volunteering, voluntary and community organisations by working with individuals, groups and communities on Anglesey to ensure they play a full and prominent role in developing the potential of the island.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE ANY CHARITABLE PURPOSES FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COMMUNITY IN YNYS MON AND, IN PARTICULAR, THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION, THE PROTECTION OF HEALTH AND THE RELIEF OF POVERTY, DISTRESS AND SICKNESS
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Who it helps
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- How it works
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Isle of Anglesey
Area of benefit in its governing document: Ynys M+n
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £908,289 and spent £898,271.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £908,289 | £898,271 | 10 | 10 |
| 31 March 2024 | £748,410 | £748,410 | 12 | 3 |
| 31 March 2023 | £776,479 | £785,828 | 12 | 3 |
| 31 March 2022 | £963,510 | £860,354 | 18 | 6 |
| 31 March 2021 | £987,104 | £835,103 | 18 | 14 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 8%, from £987,104 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £908,289 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 99% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 83% of its income in the year to 31 March 2023 came from government grants and contracts (£640,945).
- Largest funder
- Cyngor Sir Ynys Mon gave £443,172 in the year to 31 March 2025, 49% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £476,086 from 4 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £476,086 from 4 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £298,067 from 8 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £215,623 from 9 grants | £425,322 from 3 contracts |
| 31 March 2022 | £468,217 from 12 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £283,563 from 9 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2025
- Donations and legacies£886,948
- Trading and fundraising£13,289
- Investments£8,052
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2025, the charity named 14 funders who gave £886,948 between them. £700,655 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Cyngor Sir Ynys Mon | Trust, company or other | £443,172 |
| Wales Council for Voluntary Action | Other public body | £216,153 |
| Loteri/Lottery | National Lottery | £70,644 |
| Place Shaping | Trust, company or other | £46,923 |
| Betsi Cadwaladr | Trust, company or other | £44,013 |
| Regional Integrated Fund | Trust, company or other | £39,000 |
| Cyngor Sir Fflint | Trust, company or other | £12,815 |
| Social Prescribing Fund | Trust, company or other | £12,500 |
| Community Cohesion | Trust, company or other | £1,728 |
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Wales Council for Voluntary Action | 31 March 2025 | £216,153 |
Grants it paid to others
| Recipient | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Cyngor Sir Ynys Mon - Shared Prosperity Funding | 31 March 2025 | £331,898 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 11 grants to this charity since 2010, worth at least £1,734,187.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£1,607,037, 7 grants
- Comic Relief£75,150, 1 grant
- Garfield Weston Foundation£40,000, 2 grants
- Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales£12,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 17 Feb 2026 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £20,000 |
| 14 Apr 2025 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £30,000 |
| 30 Jan 2025 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £262,584 |
| 27 Jan 2022 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £262,584 |
| 26 Nov 2021 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £10,000 |
| 14 May 2020 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £59,995 |
| 27 Sept 2017 | Comic Relief | £75,150 |
| 6 Jun 2013 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £3,480 |
| 23 Nov 2012 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £983,973 |
| 18 Jan 2012 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £14,421 |
All 11 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 17 Mar 2010 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £12,000 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 1 payment to this charity worth £85,030, on 11 February 2021.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £85,030 | 1 | 2020/21 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
24 November 2025, Gwynedd
Named in an agenda item or minute of Gwynedd Pensions Fund Annual Meeting Between Members of Gwynedd Council's Pension Committee and Representatives of the Employers and Unions
Apologies
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
14 February 2022
Named by Elliw Llŷr in the Senedd
…sociations are available, we as a local authority are available to provide support, you have Citizens Advice, you have the third sector, we have Medrwn Môn, who all need to be part of this, because when the letter arrives and says, well, there's potentially a scheme available, as I said, it's the co…
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Andrew Mark Hughes
- Caroline May Schwaller
- Ieuan Williams
- Lyn Mon Owen-Hughes
- Sally Anne Heywood
- Sara Spinks
- Susan Gillett
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 29 January 2026, 2 days early | Received 29 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 31 January 2025 | Received 31 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 30 January 2023, 1 day early | Received 30 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 18 January 2022, 13 days early | Received 31 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1088828
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 10 October 2001
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED ON 10 APRIL 2001, AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION DATED 27 SEPTEMBER 2007.
- Company number
- 04197934This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.medrwnmon.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Isle of Anglesey
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.