Abergavenny Ministry Area
What it does
The provision of regular public worship and the provision of sacred space for personal prayer and contemplation, pastoral work, including visiting the sick and bereaved, teaching Christianity through sermons and small groups. Promoting Christianity through events and services. The care of a fine collection of historic medieval monuments.
Its charitable purposes
The promotion of the whole mission of the Church, pastoral, evangelistic, social and ecumenical, in the parish.
Causes
- What it works on
- Religious activities
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Monmouthshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: Undefined. in Practice, Local.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £367,709 and spent £364,856.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £367,709 | £364,856 | Not reported | 70 |
| 31 December 2024 | £395,665 | £458,709 | Not reported | 84 |
| 31 December 2023 | £513,336 | £380,805 | 5 | 79 |
| 31 December 2022 | £172,978 | £199,562 | Not reported | 40 |
| 31 December 2021 | £237,979 | £214,602 | Not reported | 40 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 55%, from £237,979 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £367,709 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 99% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Welsh Government gave £11,270 in the year to 31 December 2025, 3% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £16,610 from 4 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £16,610 from 4 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £1,165 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2023
- Donations and legacies£176,734
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£25,395
- Trading and fundraising£120,040
- Investments£2,358
- Other£188,809
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2025, the charity named 13 funders who gave £32,424 between them. £16,620 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2025 | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | Welsh Government | £11,270 | ||
| Mon Dioc Fin 1 Administator grant | Trust, company or other | £5,350 | ||
| Mon. Diocese Large Buildings and Eco-grant | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | ||
| Abergavenny Town Council | Council | £5,000 | ||
| Mon Dioc Fin 1 MAD Grant | Trust, company or other | £2,797 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2023, worth at least £5,100.
By funder
- Garfield Weston Foundation£3,000, 1 grant
- Benefact Trust£2,100, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 12 Jan 2024 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £3,000 |
| 27 Apr 2023 | Benefact Trust | £2,100 |
Trustees
13 trustees run the charity.
- Beverley Jane Smith
- Bonita Mary Russell
- Caroline Anne Woollard
- Margaret Rose Woodyatt
- Miles Jonathan Kennah
- Nigel Bruce Patterson
- Philippa Mary Lloyd Hassall
- Rev Dawn Elizabeth Lindsay
- Rev Lea Tracey Ryder
- Robin Charles Smith
- Sharon Michelle Dickinson
- Timothy Bernard Pratt
- William Thomas Evans
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 22 October 2026, 9 days early | Received 22 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 20 October 2025, 11 days early | Received 20 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 30 October 2024, 1 day early | Received 30 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 7 July 2023, 116 days early | Received 7 July 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 5 July 2022, 118 days early | Received 5 July 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1137751
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 3 September 2010
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 31 MARCH 1920 as amended on 27 Oct 2022
- Website
- abergavenny.church
- Council area of its contact address
- Monmouthshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.