Newport and Gwent Samaritans
What it does
To provide emotional support for people in distress or despair or who are suicidal.
Its charitable purposes
(A) TO WORK FOR THE ASSISTANCE OF PERSONS WHO ARE SUICIDAL, DESPAIRING OR IN DISTRESS BY PROVIDING A SERVICE PRIMARILY INTENDED FOR THE BENEFIT OF PERSONS IN NEWPORT AND GWENT AND THE SURROUNDING AREA (BUT WITHOUT SPECIFIC LIMITATIONS AS TO AREA) TO ENABLE SUCH PERSONS TO RECEIVE IMMEDIATE HELP, COMPASSION AND BEFRIENDING FROM MEMBERS OF THE CHARITY SELECTED AND PREPARED FOR THE PURPOSE WORKING UNDER DIRECTION; AND ALSO WHERE APPROPRIATE, IN ACCORDANCE WITH SAMARITAN PROCEDURE, REFERRAL TO PERSONS HAVING SPECIALIST OR PROFESSIONAL SKILLS, AND(B) TO SUPPORT THE COMPANY AND AID IN THE ESTABLISHMENT AND SUPPORT OF PROBATIONARY BRANCHES AND THE SUPPORT OF RECOGNISED BRANCHES OF SAMARITANS.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Blaenau Gwent
- Newport City
Area of benefit in its governing document: Newport and Gwent
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £39,523 and spent £26,906.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £39,523 | £26,906 | Not reported | 80 |
| 31 March 2024 | £67,229 | £68,024 | Not reported | 80 |
| 31 March 2023 | £222,996 | £266,889 | Not reported | 100 |
| 31 March 2022 | £19,098 | £18,432 | Not reported | 90 |
| 31 March 2021 | £15,903 | £13,142 | Not reported | 100 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 149%, from £15,903 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £39,523 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 68% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Moondance Foundation grant gave £12,000 in the year to 31 March 2025, 30% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £1,500 from 1 grant. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £1,500 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £1,500 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2025, the charity named 4 funders who gave £16,500 between them. £3,500 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Moondance Foundation grant | Trust, company or other | £12,000 | £20,000 | |
| Community Foundation Wales | Other public body | £2,000 | ||
| Welsh Government | Welsh Government | £1,500 | £1,500 | |
| Cwmbran Trust | Trust, company or other | £1,000 | ||
| Postcode Community grant | Trust, company or other | £23,000 | ||
| NOMS prison support | Trust, company or other | £5,515 | ||
| GWR | Trust, company or other | £1,500 | ||
| POBL grant | Trust, company or other | £1,000 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 5 grants to this charity since 2022, worth at least £32,000.
By funder
- Postcode Community Trust£23,000, 1 grant
- Freemasons' Charity£7,000, 3 grants
- Community Foundation in Wales£2,000, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 28 Jan 2025 | Community Foundation in Wales | £2,000 |
| 13 Jan 2025 | Freemasons' Charity | £2,000 |
| 29 Jan 2024 | Freemasons' Charity | £4,000 |
| 30 Jun 2023 | Postcode Community Trust | £23,000 |
| 13 Jan 2022 | Freemasons' Charity | £1,000 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
21 January 2026, Newport
Named in an agenda item or minute of Greater Gwent Cremation Joint Committee
Recycled Metal Scheme
Trustees
6 trustees run the charity.
- Angela Jane Marshall
- Jeffrey Gwilym Mitchell
- Judith McGahan
- Sarah Mary Frances Symondson
- Sharon Penny Beckett
- Susan Elizabeth Hard
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 11 November 2025, 81 days early | Received 11 November 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 9 October 2024, 114 days early | Received 9 October 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 27 October 2023, 96 days early | Received 27 October 2023 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 31 December 2022, 31 days early | Received 31 December 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 16 December 2021, 46 days early | Received 16 December 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1174186
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 9 August 2017
- Governing document
- MODEL RULES AND CONSTITUTION AMENDED 16 OCTOBER 1979, 6TH APRIL 2004 AND 31 JANUARY 2008AS AMENDED ON 07 DEC 2015
- Website
- www.samaritans.org/branches/newport-and-gwent-samaritans
- Council area of its contact address
- Newport
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.