Snowdonia Slate Trail
What it does
The Trust seeks to advance education for the public benefit in the unique slate heritage and culture of Snowdonia by maintaining its website and interpretative boards.We provide facilities for recreation or other leisure time occupation for the public at large in the interests of social welfare by monitoring, managing and enhancing the Snowdonia Slate Trail long distance footpath.
Its charitable purposes
1.THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT IN THE UNIQUE SLATE HERITAGE AND CULTURE OF SNOWDONIA.2.THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES FOR RECREATION OR OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION FOR THE PUBLIC AT LARGE IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE BY MONITORING, MANAGING AND ENHANCING THE SNOWDONIA SLATE TRAIL LONG DISTANCE FOOTPATH.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Who it helps
- The general public
- How it works
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Conwy
- Gwynedd
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £35,401 and spent £32,830.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £35,401 | £32,830 | Not reported | 20 |
| 31 March 2024 | £15,052 | £6,825 | Not reported | 19 |
| 31 March 2023 | £1,601 | £4,440 | Not reported | 18 |
| 31 March 2022 | £6,250 | £4,637 | Not reported | 14 |
| 31 March 2021 | £996 | £1,808 | Not reported | 9 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 3,454%, from £996 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £35,401 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 93% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £8,640 from 1 grant | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £1,170 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Who funds it, according to its accounts
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Powys Association of Voluntary Organisations Cymdeithas Mudiadau Gwirfoddol Powys | 31 March 2023 | £1,017 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 1 grant to this charity, worth £510, awarded in 2021.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 29 Nov 2021 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £510 |
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Dr Joan CuttingChair
- Aled Owen BSc MA
- Evelyn Lucy Lloyd
- Mieko Yamaguchi
- Nicola Isobel Austin
- Paul Bridges
- Roger Kenneth Greenhalgh
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 18 November 2025, 74 days early | Received 21 November 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 25 November 2024, 67 days early | Received 25 November 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 9 January 2024, 22 days early | Received 9 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 2 November 2022, 90 days early | Received 2 November 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 22 November 2021, 70 days early | Received 22 November 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1182188
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 25 February 2019
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 25 Feb 2019
- Website
- www.snowdoniaslatetrail.org
- Council area of its contact address
- Gwynedd
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.