Friends of Coed Gwilym Park
What it does
Our objective is to improve the facilities at Coed Gwilym Park, Clydach , Swansea SA6 5NS. We will do this with donations received from local individuals , local businesses and running local events. We will also be applying for grants from various sources such as the Community Lottery Fund, Mynydd Y Gwair Wind Farm, Garfield Weston Foundation, Landfill Tax , Co Op Group, Tesco and others.
Its charitable purposes
FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE INHABITANTS OF CLYDACH, SWANSEA AND THE SURROUNDING AREA ("THE AREA OF BENEFIT"), TO PROVIDE OR ASSIST IN THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES FOR RECREATION AND OTHER LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE WITH THE OBJECT OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE INHABITANTS OF THE AREA OF BENEFIT AND IN PARTICULAR BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY BY THE PRESERVATION, PROMOTION, SUPPORT AND IMPROVEMENT OF COED GWILYM PARK AND ITS AMENITIES.
Causes
- What it works on
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
Where it works
- In Wales
- City of Swansea
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £135,679 and spent £237,921.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £135,679 | £237,921 | Not reported | 25 |
| 31 December 2024 | £596,284 | £347,886 | 2 | 30 |
| 31 December 2023 | £213,311 | £201,439 | Not reported | 54 |
| 31 December 2022 | £243,944 | £344,661 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £102,159 | £9,435 | Not reported | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 33%, from £102,159 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £135,679 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 175% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Clydach FC gave £218,624 in the year to 31 December 2024, 37% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: £8,000 from 5 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £8,000 from 5 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £460,000 from 25 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | £114,590 from 6 contracts |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2024
- Donations and legacies£492,661
- Trading and fundraising£98,910
- Other£4,713
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2024, the charity named 1 funder who gave £218,624. £0 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2024 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| Clydach FC | Trust, company or other | £218,624 | |
| Sports Wales | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | |
| Welsh Government | Welsh Government | £5,000 | |
| Swansea Bay Foundation | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | |
| Swansea Council | Council | £1,940 | |
| Mynydd Y Gwair | Trust, company or other | £1,000 |
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Swansea C V S | 31 March 2026 | £11,651 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2021, worth at least £194,730.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 19 Jul 2024 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £105,730 |
| 13 May 2021 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £89,000 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 2 payments to this charity worth £58,000 between 3 May 2022 and 3 May 2022.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £58,000 | 2 | 2021/22, 2022/23 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
3 September 2026, Swansea
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Announcements of the Presiding Member.
4 September 2025, Swansea
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Announcements of the Presiding Member.
5 September 2024, Swansea
Named in an agenda item or minute of Council
Announcements of the Presiding Member.
Trustees
9 trustees run the charity.
- Chris Holloway
- Dafydd Gareth Thomas
- Denise Sparks
- Gwyn Evans
- Robert Beale
- Robert Michael Havard
- Timothy Luke Daley
- Veronica Fuller
- William John Gowman
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 30 October 2026, 1 day early | Received 30 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 27 May 2025, 157 days early | Received 27 May 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 15 March 2024, 230 days early | Received 15 March 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 24 May 2023, 160 days early | Received 24 May 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 8 July 2022, 115 days early | Received 8 July 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1182299
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 4 March 2019
- Governing document
- CIO - FOUNDATION Registered 04 Mar 2019
- Website
- www.friendsofcoedgwilympark.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Swansea
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.