King's Church, Newport
What it does
The Object of the Church is, for the public benefit, to advance the Christian religion in the UK and such parts of the world as the Charity Trustees may think fit, including by but not limited to, the enrichment of lives through support, training, care and guidance in line with the teachings of the Christian Bible.
Its charitable purposes
THE OBJECT OF THE CHURCH IS, FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT, TO ADVANCE THE CHRISTIAN RELIGION IN THE UK AND SUCH PARTS OF THE WORLD AS THE CHARITY TRUSTEES MAY THINK FIT, INCLUDING BY BUT NOT LIMITED TO, THE ENRICHMENT OF LIVES THROUGH SUPPORT, TRAINING, CARE AND GUIDANCE IN LINE WITH THE TEACHINGS OF THE CHRISTIAN BIBLE.
Causes
- What it works on
- Religious activities
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
Where it works
- In Wales
- Newport City
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £427,278 and spent £375,128.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £427,278 | £375,128 | Not reported | 381 |
| 31 December 2024 | £422,033 | £368,916 | Not reported | 292 |
| 31 December 2023 | £463,286 | £389,170 | Not reported | 255 |
| 31 December 2022 | £583,331 | £359,340 | 5 | 250 |
| 31 December 2021 | £404,284 | £339,168 | Not reported | 230 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 6%, from £404,284 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £427,278 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 88% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund gave £173,467 in the year to 31 December 2025, 41% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | £3,405 from 2 grants | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £25,176 from 1 grant | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2022
- Donations and legacies£217,773
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£347,532
- Investments£493
- Other£17,533
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2025, the charity named 1 funder who gave £173,467. £173,467 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2025 | Dec 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|
| The National Lottery Community Fund | National Lottery | £173,467 | £138,658 |
| Moondance | Trust, company or other | £90,000 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 2 grants to this charity since 2020, worth at least £509,919.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 6 Dec 2022 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £499,919 |
| 30 Mar 2020 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £10,000 |
Trustees
3 trustees run the charity.
- James Wesley WrightChair
- Dale Wood
- Micheal Mosindi
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 19 June 2026, 134 days early | Received 19 June 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 14 October 2025, 17 days early | Received 14 October 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 22 October 2024, 9 days early | Received 22 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 31 August 2023, 61 days early | Received 31 August 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 26 May 2022, 158 days early | Received 26 May 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1183216
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 1 May 2019
- Governing document
- CIO - ASSOCIATION Registered 01 May 2019
- Website
- www.kings-church.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Newport
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 2 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.