The Clwyd-powys Archaeological Trust
What it does
The Trust is one of the four archaeological trusts in Wales which work closely with other national, regional and local bodies and members of the general public to help record, interpret and protect all aspects of the historic environment
Its charitable purposes
TO ADVANCE THE EDUCATION OF THE PUBLIC IN ARCHAEOLOGY. (FOR FURTHER DETAILS SEE CLAUSE 3 OF THE MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES).
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
Where it works
- Elsewhere
- Throughout England and Wales
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £0 and spent £0.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £0 | £0 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £1,194,824 | £1,800,407 | 15 | 170 |
| 31 March 2023 | £707,224 | £657,285 | 15 | 175 |
| 31 March 2022 | £658,523 | £564,287 | 14 | 108 |
| 31 March 2021 | £652,414 | £574,211 | 15 | 108 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 83%, from £652,414 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £1,194,824 in the year to 31 March 2024.
- Spending against income
- It spent 151% of its income in the year to 31 March 2024. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 4 years shown.
- Money from government
- 43% of its income in the year to 31 March 2024 came from government grants and contracts (£512,840).
- Largest funder
- Cadw gave £399,950 in the year to 31 March 2024, 33% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2024: £402,475 from 2 grants. Government contracts: £110,365 from 20 contracts.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2024 | £402,475 from 2 grants | £110,365 from 20 contracts |
| 31 March 2023 | £474,851 from 1 grant | £116,666 from 25 contracts |
| 31 March 2022 | £333,876 from 3 grants | £57,296 from 2 contracts |
| 31 March 2021 | £433,502 from 6 grants | £42,573 from 5 contracts |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2024
- Donations and legacies£400,950
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£452,315
- Investments£23,099
- Other£460
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2024, the charity named 3 funders who gave £760,230 between them. £759,230 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 | Mar 2022 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Cadw | Other public body | £399,950 | £482,036 | £323,476 |
| Welsh Government | Welsh Government | £359,280 | ||
| National Museum Wales | Trust, company or other | £1,000 | ||
| Natural Resource Wales Grants | Trust, company or other | £9,482 | £4,400 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
No grants to this charity appear in 360Giving data.
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 13 payments to this charity worth £1,071,032 between 5 July 2021 and 6 March 2024.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £1,071,032 | 13 | 2021/22, 2022/23, 2023/24 |
Trustees
10 trustees run the charity.
- David Elis-Williams
- Dr CAROL BELL
- Dr SIAN ELUNED REES
- Fiona Gale
- Henry Stuart Owen-John
- Hywel Rhys Richard John
- John Baron Ratcliffe
- Judith Wainwright
- Nigel David Clubb
- Steffan Rhys Williams
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 31 January 2026 | Not required |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 27 January 2025, 4 days early | Received 6 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 22 April 2024, 82 days late | Received 22 April 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 25 January 2023, 6 days early | Received 25 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 18 January 2022, 13 days early | Received 18 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 508301
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 4 January 1979
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 14 MAY 1975 AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION OF 13 OCTOBER 1978, NOVEMBER 1983 AND 14 SEPTEMBER 2001.
- Company number
- 01212455This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.cpat.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Carmarthenshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there, as loaded by OpenEconomy.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.