Cymdeithas Gwasanaethau Gwirfoddol Sir Gar / Carmarthenshire Association of Voluntary Services
What it does
The County Voluntary Council (CVC) for Carmarthenshire - offering support, information and guidance to Third Sector organisations across the county as well as supporting individuals who wish to volunteer in finding appropriate voluntary placements.
Its charitable purposes
TO PROMOTE ALL, OR ANY CHARITABLE PURPOSES, OR THOSE WHICH NOW, OR HEREAFTER MAY BE DEEMED CHARITABLE BY LAW, FOR THE BENEFIT OF THE COMMUNITY, THROUGH WELSH AND ENGLISH
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- The general public
- How it works
- Makes grants to organisations
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Carmarthenshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: Carmarthenshire
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £752,287 and spent £556,823.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £752,287 | £556,823 | 13 | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £562,956 | £464,855 | 12 | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £586,251 | £595,536 | 12 | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £578,472 | £652,594 | 12 | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £814,312 | £610,386 | 11 | 100 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Down 8%, from £814,312 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £752,287 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 74% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 57% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025 came from government grants and contracts (£426,111).
- Largest funder
- Wales Council for Voluntary Action gave £263,940 in the year to 31 March 2025, 35% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £401,001 from 7 grants. Government contracts: £25,110 from 1 contract.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £401,001 from 7 grants | £25,110 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2024 | £407,623 from 7 grants | £25,110 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2023 | £371,420 from 9 grants | £25,110 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2022 | £377,877 from 11 grants | £25,110 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2021 | £471,209 from 8 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2025
- Donations and legacies£154
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£708,317
- Trading and fundraising£10,056
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2025, the charity named 8 funders who gave £690,051 between them. £600,569 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Wales Council for Voluntary Action | Other public body | £263,940 | £227,170 | £315,348 |
| UK Government | UK Government | £240,594 | £50,335 | |
| Carmarthenshire County Council | Council | £96,035 | £76,661 | £73,781 |
| Food Partnership Development | Trust, company or other | £35,958 | £24,040 | |
| RIF | Trust, company or other |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 5 grants to this charity since 2005, worth at least £1,848,860.
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 30 Mar 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £999,328 |
| 24 Sept 2009 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £249,835 |
| 3 Dec 2007 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £297,897 |
| 22 May 2006 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £1,800 |
| 13 Dec 2005 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £300,000 |
Trustees
8 trustees run the charity.
- Alan Bowen
- Andre Samuel James McPherson
- Awen Little
- David Jonathan Williams
- Leann Marie Douglas
- Louise Austin
- Meinir Anona Evans
- Peter Loughran
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 3 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 4 February 2026, 4 days late | Received 4 February 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 31 January 2025 | Received 31 January 2025 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 31 January 2023 | Received 31 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 3 February 2022, 3 days late | Received 3 February 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1062144
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 29 April 1997
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES OF ASSOCIATION INCORPORATED 10 APRIL 1997
- Company number
- 03348742This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.cavs.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Carmarthenshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.