Kim Inspire
What it does
Provide groups and activities within the community and in hospital settings which serve to develop the confidence, self-esteem and personal skills of vulnerable people, with a variety of difficult issues or situations.
Its charitable purposes
FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT, THE ADVANCEMENT OF HEALTH; THE ADVANCEMENT OF EDUCATION, THE RELIEF OF THOSE IN NEED BY REASON OF ILL HEALTH, DISABILITY, FINANCIAL HARDSHIP OR OTHER DISADVANTAGE, THE RELIEF OF UNEMPLOYMENT, THE PREVENTION OF CRIME AND ANTI-SOCIAL BEHAVIOUR AND THE PROVISION OF FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECTIVE OF IMPROVING CONDITIONS OF LIFE IN PARTICULAR BUT WITHOUT PREJUDICE TO THE GENERALITY OF THE FORGOING BY THE FOLLOWING:1.1.1 ASSISTING IN THE CARE, SUPPORT AND RECOVERY OF PERSONS, AGED 16 YEARSAND OVER, EXPERIENCING, OR WHO HAVE EXPERIENCED, MENTAL HEALTHPROBLEMS AND ENDURING MENTAL ILLNESS OF ANY DESCRIPTION BY THEPROVISION OF FACILITIES FOR EDUCATION AND RECREATION;1.1.2 THE PROVISION OF WORK EXPERIENCE AND TRAINING FOR PERSONS, AGED 16YEARS AND OVER, SO AS TO DEVELOP SKILLS THAT WILL ENABLE THEM TO FINDEMPLOYMENT; AND1.1.3 THE PROVISION OF SUPPORT AND GUIDANCE TO WOMEN WHO HAVE A HISTORYOF CRIMINAL ACTIVITY OR WHO ARE AT RISK OF BECOMING INVOLVED INCRIMINAL ACTIVITY.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Disabled people
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides services
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Flintshire
- Wrexham
- Conwy
- Denbighshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: Not Defined. in Practice Flintshire.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2026, it had income of £580,987 and spent £570,592.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £580,987 | £570,592 | 13 | 55 |
| 31 March 2025 | £589,172 | £563,694 | 14 | 51 |
| 31 March 2024 | £589,015 | £562,980 | 14 | 53 |
| 31 March 2023 | £588,743 | £587,423 | 16 | 46 |
| 31 March 2022 | £539,732 | £529,572 | 15 | 46 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 8%, from £539,732 in the year to 31 March 2022 to £580,987 in the year to 31 March 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 98% of its income in the year to 31 March 2026. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board gave £315,019 in the year to 31 March 2026, 54% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2026: £403,999 from 8 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £403,999 from 8 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2025 | £152,245 from 5 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £454,147 from 6 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £353,090 from 4 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £46,147 from 2 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2026
- Donations and legacies£7,385
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£560,846
- Trading and fundraising£9,433
- Investments£3,323
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2026, the charity named 13 funders who gave £555,846 between them. £455,307 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Betsi Cadwaladr University Health Board | NHS | £315,019 | £328,683 | £336,375 |
| The National Lottery Community Fund | National Lottery | £66,788 | ||
| Flintshire County Council | Council | £58,500 | £58,500 | £74,500 |
| Neumark Foundation | Trust, company or other | £32,700 | £32,000 | £10,997 |
| Lloyds Foundation | Trust, company or other | £19,687 | £1,000 | £4,890 |
| Community Facilities Programme | Trust, company or other | £18,022 | ||
| Arts Council of Wales | Other public body | £15,000 | ||
| Flintshire Fund | Trust, company or other | £10,000 | ||
| BBC Children in Need | Trust, company or other | £9,488 | £25,084 | £31,868 |
| KIM Inspire Social Enterprises Ltd | Trust, company or other | £6,604 | £4,396 | |
| BCU | Trust, company or other | £2,458 | ||
| DVSC Welsh Churches | Trust, company or other | £880 | £450 | |
| The National Autistic Society | Trust, company or other | £700 | £6,800 | |
| Wrexham Key Fund | Trust, company or other | £59,146 | ||
| Steve Morgan Foundation | Trust, company or other | £36,240 | ||
| Covid Community Support hub | Trust, company or other | £25,599 | ||
| Denbighshire Key fund | Trust, company or other | £16,720 | £8,280 | |
| Flintshire Key fund | Trust, company or other | £17,589 | £7,393 | |
| The Waterloo Foundation | Trust, company or other | £20,000 | ||
| Actif North Wales Enabling fund | Trust, company or other | £7,500 | ||
| The Screwfix Foundation | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | ||
| Citizens Advice | Trust, company or other | £2,750 | ||
| Wrexham County Borough Council | Council | £2,000 | ||
| Moondance | Trust, company or other | £570 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 19 grants to this charity since 2007, worth at least £1,837,446.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£1,001,079, 5 grants
- Henry Smith Foundation£293,100, 2 grants
- Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales£222,250, 6 grants
- BBC Children in Need£217,973, 3 grants
- Esmée Fairbairn Foundation£66,096, 2 grants
- People's Health Trust£36,948, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 14 Dec 2022 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £2,250 |
| 20 Oct 2022 | BBC Children in Need | £500 |
| 10 Aug 2021 | BBC Children in Need | £96,966 |
| 3 Dec 2020 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £50,000 |
| 11 Sept 2019 | Henry Smith Foundation | £180,000 |
| 23 Oct 2018 | BBC Children in Need | £120,507 |
| 12 Oct 2018 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,956 |
| 29 Nov 2017 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £249,903 |
| 10 Aug 2017 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £75,000 |
| 9 Jun 2016 | Henry Smith Foundation | £113,100 |
All 19 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 28 Sept 2015 | People's Health Trust | £36,948 |
| 10 Sept 2014 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £75,000 |
| 30 Jun 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,978 |
| 26 Mar 2013 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £22,566 |
| 30 May 2012 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £13,500 |
| 23 Mar 2011 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £490,986 |
| 16 Mar 2011 | Esmée Fairbairn Foundation | £43,530 |
| 27 Jan 2010 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £6,500 |
| 19 Jul 2007 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £245,256 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
6 July 2022, Wrexham
Named in a decision of Employment, Business and Investment Scrutiny Committee
TY Pawb Performance 2021/22
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
26 March 2025
Named by Mark Isherwood in the Senedd
…stic and ADHD Women', found that 75 per cent felt there is insufficient support available for autistic individuals and their families. Charity KIM Inspire's 2023 'Supporting Neurodivergent Girls and Young Women across North-east Wales' report found that the presentations of autism and ADHD in girls…
7 May 2024
Named by Mark Isherwood in the Senedd
…tings, and that 75 per cent felt there is insufficient support available for autistic individuals and their families. North Wales-based charity KIM Inspire has also published the findings of their six-month research project in 2023, 'Supporting neurodivergent girls and young women across north-east…
11 March 2022
Named in a ministerial meeting or engagement: Min for Social Justice
Purpose: KIM-Inspire.
KIM-Inspire
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Anne HooperChair
- Linda Kathleen Bowen
- Michael Gerard Bradshaw
- Nigel Acott
- Rev Andrew Stuart Grimwood
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | 31 January 2027 | Received 22 October 2026, 101 days early | Received 22 October 2026 |
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 15 October 2025, 108 days early | Received 15 October 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 5 December 2024, 57 days early | Received 5 December 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 21 December 2023, 41 days early | Received 21 December 2023 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 15 November 2022, 77 days early | Received 29 November 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1104186
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 8 June 2004
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 19/06/2002AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 29/07/2002AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION(S) DATED 13/05/2004AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 22/07/2010AS REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 23/12/2011 as amended on 22 Jul 2026
- Company number
- 04464874This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.kim-inspire.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Flintshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.
Elsewhere in the Edau family
- OpenCouncil: council records that name this charity
- OpenSenedd: Senedd records that name this charity
- OpenCouncil: Flintshire Council's meetings and decisions
- OpenEconomy: Flintshire's economy in figures
- OpenSenedd: the Members of the Senedd for Clwyd
- OpenSenedd: the Members of the Senedd for Fflint Wrecsam