Towy Community Church
What it does
Church in the community.Construction and management of Xcel project
Its charitable purposes
1 TO ADVANCE THE CHRISTIAN FAITH IN ACCORDANCE WITH THE STATEMENT OF BELIEF IN CARMARTHENSHIRE AND IN SUCH OTHER PARTS OF THE UNITED KINGDOM OR THE WORLD AS THE LEADERSHIP TEAM MAY FROM TIME TO TIME THINK FIT AND TO FULFIL SUCH OTHER PURPOSES WHICH ARE EXCLUSIVELY CHARITABLE ACCORDING TO THE LAW OF ENGLAND AND WALES AND ARE CONNECTED WITH THE CHARITABLE WORK OF THE CHURCH2 TO RELIEVE PERSONS WHO ARE IN CONDITIONS OF NEED OR HARDSHIP OR WHO ARE AGED OR SICK AND TO RELIEVE THE DISTRESS CAUSED THEREBY IN THE SAID LOCATION AND IN SUCH OTHER PARTS OF THE UNITED KINGDOM OR THE WORLD AS THE LEADERSHIP TEAM MAY FROM TIME TO TIME THINK FIT3 TO BENEFIT THE LOCAL COMMUNITY OF CARMARTHENSHIRE AND THE NEIGHBOURHOOD BY ASSOCIATING TOGETHER WITH THE SAID LOCAL COMMUNITY AND THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES, VOLUNTARY AND OTHER ORGANISATIONS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND/OR TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTERESTS OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR HEALTHY RECREATION AND LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECTIVE OF IMPROVING CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR THE RESIDENTS; AND4 OTHER CHARITABLE PURPOSES IN THE UNITED KINGDOM AND/OR OTHER PARTS OF THE WORLD IN FULFILMENT OF THE MISSION OF THE CHURCH
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Amateur sport
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Carmarthenshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: Carmarthenshire
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 December 2025, it had income of £1,153,321 and spent £1,317,139.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | £1,153,321 | £1,317,139 | 36 | 50 |
| 31 December 2024 | £1,263,798 | £1,467,656 | 46 | 50 |
| 31 December 2023 | £1,270,268 | £1,410,736 | 47 | 50 |
| 31 December 2022 | £1,205,709 | £1,157,212 | 50 | 50 |
| 31 December 2021 | £982,073 | £856,787 | 34 | 120 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 17%, from £982,073 in the year to 31 December 2021 to £1,153,321 in the year to 31 December 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 114% of its income in the year to 31 December 2025. It spent more than its income in 3 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Welsh Government gave £29,131 in the year to 31 December 2025, 3% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 December 2025: Not reported. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2024 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2023 | Not reported | Not reported |
| 31 December 2021 | £288,264 from 15 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 December 2025
- Donations and legacies£278,000
- Trading and fundraising£855,739
- Investments£62
- Other£19,520
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 December 2025, the charity named 3 funders who gave £48,580 between them. £33,131 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Dec 2025 |
|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | Welsh Government | £29,131 |
| Targeted Finance Fund | Trust, company or other | £15,449 |
| The National Lottery Community Fund | National Lottery | £4,000 |
Grants it paid to others
| Recipient | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Dr M'z Youth Project | 31 December 2025 | £1,200 |
| Dr M'z Youth Project | 31 December 2024 | £1,200 |
| Dr M'z Youth Project | 31 December 2023 | £1,200 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 10 grants to this charity since 2010, worth at least £1,075,405.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£798,202, 1 grant
- Trussell£273,092, 7 grants
- Garfield Weston Foundation£3,000, 1 grant
- Freemasons' Charity£1,111, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 4 Oct 2024 | Trussell | £45,000 |
| 13 Mar 2024 | Trussell | £59,668 |
| 14 Feb 2023 | Trussell | £16,805 |
| 28 Oct 2022 | Trussell | £5,000 |
| 9 Jun 2022 | Trussell | £81,192 |
| 30 Nov 2021 | Freemasons' Charity | £1,111 |
| 4 Nov 2021 | Trussell | £64,427 |
| 18 Dec 2020 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £3,000 |
| 11 Feb 2020 | Trussell | £1,000 |
| 30 Jun 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £798,202 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
22 January 2026, Carmarthenshire
Named in a decision of Cabinet Member for Deputy Leader and Regeneration, Leisure, Culture and Tourism
TARGETED FINANCE FUND
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Niall PickupChair
- Charlie Evans
- Emyr Jones
- Paul Griffiths
- Tim Howells
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 December 2025 | 31 October 2026 | Received 5 October 2026, 26 days early | Received 5 October 2026 |
| 31 December 2024 | 31 October 2025 | Received 29 September 2025, 32 days early | Received 29 September 2025 |
| 31 December 2023 | 31 October 2024 | Received 8 October 2024, 23 days early | Received 8 October 2024 |
| 31 December 2022 | 31 October 2023 | Received 1 December 2023, 31 days late | Received 1 December 2023 |
| 31 December 2021 | 31 October 2022 | Received 28 September 2022, 33 days early | Received 28 September 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1136394
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 16 June 2010
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 08/03/2010
- Company number
- 07181550This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.towychurch.co.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Carmarthenshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.