Age Cymru Dyfed
What it does
To promote the health and well-being, primarily of older people, in any manner which now is or hereafter shall be deemed by law to be charitable in and around west Wales (the counties of Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire).
Its charitable purposes
To promote the health and well-being primarily of older people in any manner which is now or hereafter shall be deemed by law to be charitable in and around west Wales (the counties of Carmarthenshire, Ceredigion and Pembrokeshire).
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Disability
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Who it helps
- Older people
- How it works
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Carmarthenshire
- Pembrokeshire
- Ceredigion
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £2,047,545 and spent £1,839,613.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £2,047,545 | £1,839,613 | 79 | 70 |
| 31 March 2024 | £1,445,488 | £1,443,492 | 76 | 60 |
| 31 March 2023 | £1,197,075 | £1,270,087 | 69 | 58 |
| 31 March 2022 | £1,038,078 | £1,022,939 | 62 | 84 |
| 31 March 2021 | £1,269,635 | £817,062 | 58 | 111 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 61%, from £1,269,635 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £2,047,545 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 90% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
- Largest funder
- Hywel Dda University Health Board gave £534,810 in the year to 31 March 2025, 26% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £686,552 from 10 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £686,552 from 10 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £673,988 from 10 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £443,731 from 10 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £467,102 from 12 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £457,723 from 21 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2025
- Donations and legacies£20,662
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£1,994,306
- Trading and fundraising£3,917
- Investments£27,477
- Other£1,183
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2025, the charity named 19 funders who gave £1,738,394 between them. £1,316,302 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Hywel Dda University Health Board | NHS | £534,810 | ||
| Carmarthenshire County Council | Council | £241,816 | £253,340 | £81,696 |
| Welsh Government | Welsh Government | £211,304 | £210,132 | £211,303 |
| Pembrokeshire County Council | Council | £126,387 | £109,457 | £54,795 |
| Age UK | Trust, company or other | £115,999 | £116,832 | £101,191 |
| Ceredigion County Council | Council | £107,045 | £101,059 | £92,147 |
| Armed Forces Covenant Trust | Trust, company or other | £99,950 | £73,917 | £13,905 |
| Moondance Foundation | Trust, company or other | £87,860 | ||
| UK Government | UK Government | £67,244 | ||
| Santander Foundation | Trust, company or other | £44,742 | ||
| Wales Council for Voluntary Action | Council | £27,696 | ||
| Advocacy West Wales | Trust, company or other | £24,878 | £23,316 | £23,316 |
| Veterans Foundation | Trust, company or other | £20,000 | £20,000 | £19,999 |
| Older Carers' Wellbeing Fund | Trust, company or other | £11,983 | ||
| Adferiad | Trust, company or other | £9,707 | ||
| Hywel Davies Residuary Trust | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | £5,000 | £51,463 |
| Age Cymru | Trust, company or other | £1,577 | £9,465 | £1,006 |
| Age Cymru West Glamorgan | Trust, company or other | £396 | ||
| Hywel Dda UHB | NHS | £147,382 | £118,561 | |
| Santander | Trust, company or other | £67,017 | £73,241 | |
| PAVS | Trust, company or other | £23,115 | ||
| CAVO | Trust, company or other | £6,025 | ||
| POBL Group | Trust, company or other | £6,000 | ||
| Pembs. Living Well | Trust, company or other | £2,500 | ||
| Pembs. Warm Welcome | Trust, company or other | £1,290 | ||
| Vodafone | Trust, company or other | £750 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 4 grants to this charity since 2016, worth at least £190,121.
By funder
- Henry Smith Foundation£105,000, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Heritage Fund£75,062, 1 grant
- The National Lottery Community Fund£10,059, 2 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 13 May 2025 | The National Lottery Heritage Fund | £75,062 |
| 13 Mar 2019 | Henry Smith Foundation | £105,000 |
| 29 Jan 2018 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,560 |
| 17 May 2016 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £499 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 27 payments to this charity worth £1,426,562 between 28 January 2021 and 14 May 2026.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £1,426,562 | 27 | 2020/21, 2021/22, 2022/23, 2023/24, 2024/25, 2025/26, 2026/27 |
In council meetings
Council business that names this charity, from the records councils publish, gathered by OpenCouncil. Newest first.
29 January 2026, Pembrokeshire
Named in an agenda item or minute of Social Care Overview and Scrutiny Committee
Public Service Board Tackling Poverty Strategy
22 November 2023, Carmarthenshire
Named in a decision of Cabinet Member for Deputy Leader and Regeneration, Leisure, Culture and Tourism
RURAL INNOVATION FUND
24 April 2023, Pembrokeshire
Named in a decision of Cabinet
Financial Assistance to Voluntary/ Community Sector Organisations
In the Senedd and Welsh Government
Senedd and Welsh Government records that name this charity, gathered by OpenSenedd. Newest first.
18 February 2025
Named by Sarah Murphy in the Senedd
…nisation; The Junction; Canolfan Felin Fach; ACE—Action in Caerau & Ely; Cruse Bereavement Support, Cruse Cymru; the Paul Sartori foundation; Age Cymru Dyfed and Age Cymru Powys; and Llamau. So, I'm more than happy, of course, to share that. But, again, I would say that most of the funding is for be…
12 November 2024
Named by Joyce Watson in the Senedd
…otional scars of war and conflict for the remainder of their lives. So, I'm honoured that we are joined today by veteran representatives from Age Cymru Dyfed. Owen Dobson from Ammanford is an army veteran of Bosnia and Kosovo, while Jim Glass of Llandovery is a veteran of 37 years serving both in th…
18 May 2022
Named by Jane Dodds in the Senedd
…their work in 2016; Llanelli market was the first dementia-friendly market in Wales; the Alzheimer's Society runs services in Pembrokeshire; Age Cymru Dyfed's support services; Dementia Matters in Powys; and, Crickhowell, a dementia-friendly town. There are so many of them around not just my region,…
27 April 2022
Named by Helen Twidle in the Senedd
…l partners what contributions they've made. Nationally, we don't get involved with the regional stuff. We've got our local brand partners, so Age Cymru Dyfed would be able to answer that better than myself. I can find that information out later, but generally speaking, the feedback we get is that, w…
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Peter HamiltonChair
- Caroline Streek
- John Dymott
- Natalie Moyce
- Peter Bernard Loughran
- Vanessa Lewis Camacho
- Vanessa Rawsthorne
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 28 January 2026, 3 days early | Received 28 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 23 December 2024, 39 days early | Received 23 December 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 3 January 2024, 28 days early | Received 3 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 15 November 2022, 77 days early | Received 15 November 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 20 December 2021, 42 days early | Received 20 December 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1155813
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 17 February 2014
- Governing document
- CIO - ASSOCIATION REGISTERED ONDATED 17 FEB 2014AMENDED ON 20 NOV 2014AMENDED ON 27 JAN 2020
- Website
- www.ageuk.org.uk/cymru/dyfed
- Council area of its contact address
- Ceredigion
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.
- In council meetings: councils' published meeting records, gathered by OpenCouncil and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 4 November 2026.
- In the Senedd and Welsh Government: records gathered by OpenSenedd and matched to the charity by OpenEconomy on 5 November 2026.