St David's Diocesan Council for Social Responsibility
What it does
THE OBJECTS OF THE COUNCIL ARE GENERAL MORAL WELFARE WORK WITHIN THE DIOCESE OF ST DAVIDS.Aims:* Social Responsibility as an integral part of the Church's mission;* To work with children, young people and their families, in their communities through the Plant Dewi project;* offering resources to practitioners through conferences, publications and Diocesan and Plant Dewi websites;
Its charitable purposes
GENERAL MORAL WELFARE WORK IN THE DIOCESE.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Disability
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Environment, conservation and heritage
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other charities and voluntary bodies
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides staff or volunteers
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Sponsors or carries out research
- Acts as an umbrella or resource body
Where it works
- In Wales
- Ceredigion
- Carmarthenshire
- Pembrokeshire
Area of benefit in its governing document: Diocese of St. David.
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2026, it had income of £1,035,620 and spent £1,006,545.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £1,035,620 | £1,006,545 | 39 | 21 |
| 31 March 2025 | £864,540 | £966,001 | 34 | 20 |
| 31 March 2024 | £949,989 | £916,057 | 37 | 27 |
| 31 March 2023 | £1,018,900 | £890,927 | 37 | 21 |
| 31 March 2022 | £904,572 | £856,399 | 37 | 21 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 14%, from £904,572 in the year to 31 March 2022 to £1,035,620 in the year to 31 March 2026.
- Spending against income
- It spent 97% of its income in the year to 31 March 2026. It spent more than its income in 1 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 32% of its income in the year to 31 March 2022 came from government grants and contracts (£292,646).
- Largest funder
- The Henry Smith Charity gave £75,330 in the year to 31 March 2026, 7% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2026: £258,185 from 5 grants. Government contracts: Not reported.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | £258,185 from 5 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2025 | £242,039 from 3 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £262,184 from 4 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £263,002 from 5 grants | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £264,741 from 6 grants | £27,905 from 1 contract |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2026
- Donations and legacies£357,727
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£659,654
- Trading and fundraising£2,903
- Investments£15,336
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2026, the charity named 9 funders who gave £322,385 between them. £128,828 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2026 | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| The Henry Smith Charity | Trust, company or other | £75,330 | £66,700 | £59,900 |
| The National Lottery Community Fund | National Lottery | £64,358 | £4,966 | |
| St Davids Diocese | Trust, company or other | £46,082 | £42,974 | £44,808 |
| Pembrokeshire County Council | Council | £34,694 | £9,788 | |
| Garfield Weston Foundation | Trust, company or other | £30,000 | ||
| Wales Council for Voluntary Action | Other public body | £29,776 | £24,595 | |
| Postcode Community Trust | Trust, company or other | £25,000 | ||
| Sustain Steps Wales | Trust, company or other | £14,957 | ||
| Baby Bank Alliance Development Fund | Trust, company or other | £2,188 | ||
| Carmarthenshire Families First | Trust, company or other | £102,107 | ||
| Carmarthen Flying Start | Trust, company or other | £70,077 | ||
| Ceredigion Families First | Trust, company or other | £65,500 | ||
| Global's Make Some Noise | Trust, company or other | £27,100 | £32,100 | |
| Masonic Charitable Foundation | Trust, company or other | £29,412 | ||
| Lloyds Bank Foundation England and Wales | Trust, company or other | £25,000 | ||
| Forrester Family | Trust, company or other | £25,000 | ||
| Ceredigion Flying Start | Trust, company or other | £24,500 | ||
| Moondance Foundation | Trust, company or other | £23,007 | ||
| National Lottery Awards for All | National Lottery | £19,997 | ||
| The Society of the Holy Child Jesus | Trust, company or other | £15,000 | ||
| Pembrokeshire Food Poverty Support Fund | Trust, company or other | £5,220 | £2,520 | |
| Mothers' Union | Trust, company or other | £4,000 | £2,000 | |
| Benefact Trust | Trust, company or other | £5,900 | ||
| Clothworkers | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | ||
| Pembrokeshire Local Food Partnership | Trust, company or other | £1,000 | £3,000 | |
| Carmarthenshire County Council | Council | £4,000 | ||
| Tesco Groundwork UK | Trust, company or other | £1,500 | £500 | |
| Ceredigion County Council | Council | £1,625 | ||
| World Day of Prayer Fund | Trust, company or other | £1,004 | ||
| Arnold Clark | Trust, company or other | £1,000 | ||
| Pobl Trust | Trust, company or other | £998 | ||
| Pembrokedock Town Council Grant 2025 | Council | £970 | ||
| St Davids Diocese Children Youth & Families Fund | Trust, company or other | £450 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 28 grants to this charity since 2006, worth at least £1,611,350.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£917,126, 10 grants
- Henry Smith Foundation£389,830, 3 grants
- Freemasons' Charity£114,544, 2 grants
- Garfield Weston Foundation£86,500, 5 grants
- Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales£52,250, 2 grants
- Postcode Community Trust£25,000, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£15,000, 2 grants
- Benefact Trust£5,900, 1 grant
- The Clothworkers Foundation£5,000, 1 grant
- Making A Difference Locally£200, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 15 Oct 2025 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £30,000 |
| 8 Sept 2025 | Postcode Community Trust | £25,000 |
| 13 Aug 2025 | Making A Difference Locally | £200 |
| 30 Jul 2025 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £398,078 |
| 11 Mar 2025 | Henry Smith Foundation | £6,530 |
| 27 Jan 2025 | The Clothworkers Foundation | £5,000 |
| 22 Jan 2025 | Freemasons' Charity | £60,000 |
| 11 Dec 2024 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £19,997 |
| 27 Aug 2024 | Community Foundation in Wales | £10,000 |
| 18 Jul 2024 | Henry Smith Foundation | £205,500 |
All 28 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 21 Dec 2023 | Benefact Trust | £5,900 |
| 16 Aug 2023 | Community Foundation in Wales | £5,000 |
| 27 Mar 2023 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £30,000 |
| 17 Jan 2023 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,864 |
| 7 Dec 2022 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £2,250 |
| 7 Dec 2022 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £50,000 |
| 29 Oct 2021 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £5,000 |
| 26 Aug 2021 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,968 |
| 19 Apr 2021 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,977 |
| 18 Mar 2021 | Henry Smith Foundation | £177,800 |
| 12 Jun 2020 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £6,500 |
| 11 Feb 2019 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,933 |
| 23 May 2018 | Freemasons' Charity | £54,544 |
| 16 May 2018 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £15,000 |
| 14 Mar 2018 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £240,091 |
| 30 Jan 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £209,479 |
| 5 Jul 2012 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £5,000 |
| 29 Aug 2006 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,739 |
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Helen Nicolls
- Mary Bound
- Rev Justin David Arnott
- Rev Sophie Whitmarsh
- Rt Revd Dorrien Paul Davies
- Venerable Muwanes Farah
- Venerable RACHEL HANNAH EILEEN DAVIES
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2026 | 31 January 2027 | Received 23 October 2026, 100 days early | Received 23 October 2026 |
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 1 December 2025, 61 days early | Received 1 December 2025 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 16 October 2024, 107 days early | Received 16 October 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 1 December 2023, 61 days early | Received 1 December 2023 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 10 November 2022, 82 days early | Received 10 November 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 244178
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 13 September 1965
- Governing document
- CONSTITUTION ADOPTED 10/12/2004AS AMENDED ON 25/02/2016
- Website
- www.plantdewi.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Carmarthenshire
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.