Calan DVS
What it does
The provision of services to individuals and families who are experiencing domestic violence and to raise awareness of the issues and effects of domestic abuse.
Its charitable purposes
THE OBJECTS OF THE CHARITY ARE:(A) TO RELIEVE DISTRESS, SUFFERRING, POVERTY AND NEED AMONGST ADULTS, CHILDREN AND FAMILIES CAUSED BY EXPOSURE TO DOMESTIC ABUSE IN ANY FORM, PREDOMINANTLY BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY BY PROVIDING SERVICES TO WOMEN AND THEIR CHILDREN; AND(B) TO EDUCATE THE PUBLIC REGARDING THE CAUSES AND EFFECTS OF DOMESTIC ABUSE AND METHODS OF PREVENTION OF THE SAME.
Causes
- What it works on
- Education and training
- Health and saving lives
- Preventing or relieving poverty
- Accommodation and housing
- Human rights, equality and diversity
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- Older people
- Disabled people
- Other defined groups
- The general public
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
Where it works
- In Wales
- Powys
- Bridgend
- Neath Port Talbot
- Pembrokeshire
- Carmarthenshire
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £3,927,782 and spent £3,479,980.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £3,927,782 | £3,479,980 | 72 | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £3,326,525 | £2,945,159 | 66 | Not reported |
| 31 March 2023 | £2,503,830 | £2,275,679 | 54 | Not reported |
| 31 March 2022 | £2,241,579 | £2,168,549 | 51 | Not reported |
| 31 March 2021 | £2,368,165 | £2,046,465 | 60 | Not reported |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 66%, from £2,368,165 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £3,927,782 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 89% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent less than its income in each of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 41% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025 came from government grants and contracts (£1,605,566).
- Largest funder
- Housing Support Grant gave £1,224,889 in the year to 31 March 2025, 31% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £360,904 from 3 grants. Government contracts: £1,244,662 from 4 contracts.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £360,904 from 3 grants | £1,244,662 from 4 contracts |
| 31 March 2024 | £122,267 from 5 grants | £978,882 from 4 contracts |
| 31 March 2023 | £78,436 from 2 grants | £886,824 from 3 contracts |
| 31 March 2022 | Not reported | £890,794 from 4 contracts |
| 31 March 2021 | Not reported | £1,246,586 from 4 contracts |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2025
- Donations and legacies£21,897
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£3,874,325
- Trading and fundraising£3,193
- Investments£28,367
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2025, the charity named 36 funders who gave £3,333,055 between them. £586,603 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Housing Support Grant | Trust, company or other | £1,224,889 | £969,526 | £765,948 |
| Office of Police and Crime Commissioner | Trust, company or other | £752,903 | £752,903 | £302,374 |
| Carmarthenshire County Council | Council | £284,931 | £43,472 | £34,811 |
| Ar Trac | Trust, company or other | £111,832 | £113,574 | £111,328 |
| Swansea Bay University Health Board | NHS | £105,047 | £94,360 | £52,373 |
| Clothworkers Foundation | Trust, company or other | £100,000 | ||
| South Wales Police Crime Commissioner | Trust, company or other | £94,214 | £45,000 | |
| South Wales Police and Crime Commissioner | Trust, company or other | £83,672 | £83,672 | £69,727 |
| The National Lottery Community Fund | National Lottery | £69,002 | £129,857 | £124,640 |
| Henry Smith | Trust, company or other | £59,900 | £59,900 | |
| Moondance | Trust, company or other | £57,079 | ||
| Threshold | Trust, company or other | £48,489 | ||
| Neath Port Talbot Council | Council | £47,745 | £6,972 | £45,726 |
| Cyfannol Women's Aid | Trust, company or other | £38,126 | £47,177 | £13,770 |
| Powys County Council | Council | £37,260 | £27,255 | £31,000 |
| Swansea Council | Council | £35,618 | £19,000 | £45,000 |
| Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner SV | Trust, company or other | £29,455 | £29,455 | |
| Bristol University | Trust, company or other | £27,774 | ||
| Carmarthenshire Domestic Abuse Service | Trust, company or other | £27,095 | £9,360 | £21,213 |
| Welsh Women's Aid | Trust, company or other | £27,038 | £26,708 | £16,299 |
| Masonic Charitable Fund | Trust, company or other | £16,134 | ||
| Thrive | Trust, company or other | £12,762 | £15,577 | |
| OPCC | Trust, company or other | £11,800 | ||
| Hodges Foundation | Trust, company or other | £11,667 | ||
| Pembrokeshire County Council | Council | £7,000 | £5,000 | |
| Safe Lives | Trust, company or other | £4,000 | ||
| Courts | Trust, company or other | £3,000 | £7,500 | |
| Hwyel Dda | Trust, company or other | £2,950 | £35,395 | £38,482 |
| University of Bristol | Trust, company or other | £1,673 | £46,227 | £47,942 |
| Welsh Government | Welsh Government | £192,035 | £49,634 | |
| Threshold DAC Limited | Trust, company or other | £85,887 | ||
| Wales Council for Voluntary Action | Other public body | £46,094 | ||
| Welsh Women's Aid Tampon Tax | Trust, company or other | £35,632 | ||
| NPT Money Coach | Trust, company or other | £32,535 | ||
| Office of the Police and Crime Commissioner for South Wales | Trust, company or other | £29,455 | ||
| Moondance Foundation | Trust, company or other | £28,561 | ||
| Garfield Weston Foundation | Trust, company or other | £25,000 | ||
| Pobl Housing | Trust, company or other | £18,815 | ||
| Listen & Hear Me Training | Trust, company or other | £15,000 | ||
| NPT DV Counselling | Trust, company or other | £7,563 | ||
| Screwfix Foundation | Trust, company or other | £5,000 | ||
| Safer Streets | Trust, company or other | £3,373 | ||
| B&Q Foundation | Trust, company or other | £3,000 | ||
| Ending Homelessness | Trust, company or other | £2,500 |
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Cyfannol Women's Aid | 31 March 2025 | £149,957 |
| Cyfannol Women's Aid | 31 March 2024 | £159,792 |
| Cyfannol Women's Aid | 31 March 2023 | £125,097 |
| The Neath Port Talbot Community Voluntary Service Limited | 31 March 2024 | £7,563 |
Grants it paid to others
| Recipient | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Carmarthen Domestic Abuse Services | 31 March 2025 | £132,769 |
| Montgomeryshire Family Crisis | 31 March 2025 | £89,901 |
| Threshold Domestic Abuse Services | 31 March 2025 | £233,430 |
| West Wales Domestic Abuse Services | 31 March 2025 | £174,919 |
| Threshold Domestic Abuse Services | 31 March 2024 | £176,459 |
| Carmarthen Domestic Abuse Services | 31 March 2024 | £129,158 |
| Montgomeryshire Family Crisis | 31 March 2024 | £77,529 |
| West Wales Domestic Abuse Services | 31 March 2024 | £195,650 |
| Carmarthen Domestic Abuse Services | 31 March 2023 | £25,462 |
| Montgomeryshire Family Crisis | 31 March 2023 | £32,630 |
| Threshold Domestic Abuse Services | 31 March 2023 | £32,732 |
| West Wales Domestic Abuse Services | 31 March 2023 | £171,630 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 12 grants to this charity since 2007, worth at least £3,524,684.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£3,113,772, 5 grants
- Henry Smith Foundation£182,420, 2 grants
- The Clothworkers' Foundation£100,000, 1 grant
- Freemasons' Charity£55,317, 1 grant
- BBC Children in Need£42,255, 1 grant
- Garfield Weston Foundation£25,000, 1 grant
- Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport£5,920, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 11 Mar 2025 | Henry Smith Foundation | £2,820 |
| 23 May 2024 | Freemasons' Charity | £55,317 |
| 14 Mar 2023 | The Clothworkers' Foundation | £100,000 |
| 15 Jun 2022 | Henry Smith Foundation | £179,600 |
| 20 May 2022 | Garfield Weston Foundation | £25,000 |
| 9 Sept 2020 | BBC Children in Need | £42,255 |
| 25 Mar 2020 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £464,031 |
| 1 Dec 2018 | Department for Digital, Culture, Media and Sport | £5,920 |
| 21 Mar 2014 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £1,615,354 |
| 6 Dec 2012 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £4,800 |
All 12 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 18 Oct 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £49,120 |
| 4 Dec 2007 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £980,467 |
Payments from public bodies, from their spending data
Public bodies' published spending shows 5 payments to this charity worth £304,942 between 4 April 2022 and 24 May 2024.
| Public body | Paid | Payments | Financial years |
|---|---|---|---|
| Welsh Government | £304,942 | 5 | 2021/22, 2022/23, 2023/24, 2024/25 |
Trustees
5 trustees run the charity.
- Adam James Jones
- Carolyn Anne Kay
- Carrie Anna Needs
- Melanie Fawzya Margaret Baker
- Thomas Baley Harley
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 5 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 12 January 2026, 19 days early | Received 12 January 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 19 December 2024, 43 days early | Received 19 December 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 | Received 31 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 28 November 2022, 64 days early | Received 28 November 2022 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 21 December 2021, 41 days early | Received 21 December 2021 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1146056
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 22 February 2012
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 28/12/2011AS AMENDED BY CERTIFICATE OF INCORPORATION ON CHANGE OF NAME DATED 24/04/2012 as amended on 08 Sep 2022
- Company number
- 07892902This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.calandvs.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Neath Port Talbot
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Payments from public bodies: each body's own published spending data, matched to the charity by OpenEconomy. 5 public bodies' data is included so far.