Swansea YMCA
What it does
Services to support the development of young people, families and communities in Wales.
Its charitable purposes
1. TO HELP YOUNG PEOPLE, ESPECIALLY BUT NOT EXCLUSIVELY TO ADVANCE IN LIFE THROUGH:A. THE PROVISION OF RECREATIONAL AND LEISURE TIME ACTIVITIES PROVIDED IN THE INTEREST OF SOCIAL WELFARE, DESIGNED TO IMPROVE THEIR CONDITIONS;B. PROVIDING SUPPORT AND ACTIVITIES WHICH DEVELOP THEIR SKILLS, CAPACITIES AND CAPABILITIES TO ENABLE THEM TO PARTICIPATE IN SOCIETY AS MATURE AND RESPONSIBLE INDIVIDUALS.2. THE PROMOTION OF SOCIAL INCLUSION FOR THE PUBLIC BENEFIT AMONGST PEOPLE WHO ARE SOCIALLY EXCLUDED, RELIEVING THE NEEDS OF THOSE PEOPLE WHO ARE SOCIALLY EXCLUDED AND ASSISTING THEM TO INTEGRATE INTO SOCIETY.FOR THE PURPOSE OF THIS CLAUSE ‘SOCIALLY EXCLUDED’ MEANS BEING EXCLUDED FROM SOCIETY, OR PARTS OF SOCIETY, AS A RESULT OF ONE OF MORE OF THE FOLLOWING FACTORS: UNEMPLOYMENT; FINANCIAL HARDSHIP; YOUTH OR OLD AGE; ILL HEALTH (PHYSICAL OR MENTAL); SUBSTANCE ABUSE OR DEPENDENCY INCLUDING ALCOHOL AND DRUGS; DISCRIMINATION ON THE GROUNDS OF SEX, RACE, DISABILITY, ETHNIC ORIGIN, RELIGION, BELIEF, CREED, SEXUAL ORIENTATION OR GENDER RE-ASSIGNMENT; POOR EDUCATIONAL OR SKILLS ATTAINMENT; RELATIONSHIP AND FAMILY BREAKDOWN; POOR HOUSING (THAT IS HOUSING THAT DOES NOT MEET BASIC HABITABLE STANDARDS; CRIME (EITHER AS A VICTIM OF CRIME OR AS AN OFFENDER REHABILITATING INTO SOCIETY).3. TO FURTHER OR BENEFIT THE RESIDENTS OF WALES, WITHOUT DISTINCTION OF SEX, SEXUAL ORIENTATION, RACE OR POLITICAL, RELIGIOUS OR OTHER OPINIONS BY ASSOCIATING TOGETHER THE SAID RESIDENTS AND THE LOCAL AUTHORITIES, VOLUNTARY AND OTHER ORGANISATIONS IN A COMMON EFFORT TO ADVANCE EDUCATION AND TO PROVIDE FACILITIES IN THE INTEREST OF SOCIAL WELFARE FOR RECREATION LEISURE TIME OCCUPATION WITH THE OBJECTIVE OF IMPROVING THE CONDITIONS OF LIFE FOR RESIDENTS.
Causes
- What it works on
- General charitable purposes
- Education and training
- Arts, culture, heritage and science
- Economic and community development, and employment
- Human rights, equality and diversity
- Recreation
- Who it helps
- Children and young people
- People of a particular ethnic or racial origin
- Other defined groups
- How it works
- Provides buildings, facilities or open space
- Provides services
- Provides advocacy, advice or information
- Other charitable activities
Where it works
- In Wales
- Throughout Wales
Income and spending
In the year ending 31 March 2025, it had income of £851,303 and spent £937,608.
| Year ending | Income | Spending | Paid staff | Volunteers |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £851,303 | £937,608 | 29 | Not reported |
| 31 March 2024 | £850,736 | £870,210 | 28 | 1 |
| 31 March 2023 | £1,075,675 | £1,072,871 | 39 | 2 |
| 31 March 2022 | £993,388 | £964,041 | 39 | 2 |
| 31 March 2021 | £760,002 | £685,753 | 18 | 5 |
Financial position
Separate measures from the charity's own returns and accounts, each with its year. Read them together: no single measure says how well a charity is run.
- Income over time
- Up 12%, from £760,002 in the year to 31 March 2021 to £851,303 in the year to 31 March 2025.
- Spending against income
- It spent 110% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025. It spent more than its income in 2 of the 5 years shown.
- Money from government
- 41% of its income in the year to 31 March 2025 came from government grants and contracts (£350,064).
- Largest funder
- Regional Integrated Fund gave £182,539 in the year to 31 March 2025, 21% of that year's income.
Government funding, as the charity reported it
Government grants in the year ending 31 March 2025: £254,514 from 9 grants. Government contracts: £95,550 from 3 contracts.
| Year ending | Government grants | Government contracts |
|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | £254,514 from 9 grants | £95,550 from 3 contracts |
| 31 March 2024 | £246,710 from 9 grants | £95,092 from 3 contracts |
| 31 March 2023 | £247,163 from 12 grants | £101,912 from 4 contracts |
| 31 March 2022 | £134,415 from 11 grants | £49,834 from 1 contract |
| 31 March 2021 | £83,750 from 4 grants | Not reported |
Where its income came from in the year ending 31 March 2025
- Donations and legacies£32,483
- Charitable activities, including grants and contracts for its work£818,420
- Trading and fundraising£400
Who funds it, according to its accounts
In its accounts for the year ending 31 March 2025, the charity named 23 funders who gave £623,700 between them. £242,884 of that came from public bodies.
These figures were read from the accounts the charity filed with the Charity Commission by Claude, an AI model, in OpenEconomy's accounts reader. AI can misread a table, so check the accounts on the register before relying on a figure.
| Funder | Type | Mar 2025 | Mar 2024 | Mar 2023 |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Regional Integrated Fund | Trust, company or other | £182,539 | £182,539 | £164,270 |
| National Lottery | National Lottery | £115,723 | £40,885 | |
| Swansea Council | Council | £72,500 | £72,041 | £72,844 |
| Waterloo Foundation | Trust, company or other | £48,336 | £27,124 | £17,537 |
| CMET | Trust, company or other | £36,666 | £3,066 | |
| Children in Need | Trust, company or other | £29,633 | £23,962 | |
| Moondance Foundation | Trust, company or other | £25,180 | £23,968 | |
| Regional Integrated Fund YC Winter Short Breaks | Trust, company or other | £25,025 | £35,559 | |
| Arts Council of Wales | Other public body | £24,543 | £18,181 | £34,678 |
| Welsh Government | Welsh Government | £23,563 | £23,051 | £21,953 |
| YMCA E&W GDN | Trust, company or other | £12,246 | ||
| The Benefact Trust | Trust, company or other | £10,000 | ||
| Direct Food Support Fund | Trust, company or other | £5,190 | £4,215 | |
| Postcode Lottery | National Lottery | £3,847 | £19,238 | |
| Neath Port Talbot Council | Council | £2,708 | ||
| GBS re Public Health | Trust, company or other | £2,631 | ||
| Period Poverty Grant | Trust, company or other | £1,950 | £734 | |
| The Alchemy Foundation | Trust, company or other | £1,000 | ||
| Ty Cerdd | Trust, company or other | £420 | £1,261 | |
| Wales Council for Voluntary Action | Other public body | £196,582 | ||
| Charities Aid Foundation | Trust, company or other | £171,976 | ||
| Garfield Weston | Trust, company or other | £50,000 | ||
| RDP Youth Solutions "Y-Future" | Trust, company or other | £6,982 | £26,074 | |
| CIN Y Talent | Trust, company or other | £6,468 | £25,873 | |
| Peer Action Collective | Trust, company or other | £29,009 | ||
| SDF Youth Solutions | Trust, company or other | £12,500 | £12,500 | |
| Welsh Goverment ERF3 | Trust, company or other | £15,000 | ||
| Lloyds Bank Foundation | Trust, company or other | £11,349 | ||
| CIN LGBT Grant | Trust, company or other | £10,000 | ||
| CWVYS Film School | Trust, company or other | £6,992 | ||
| Barnados Voice & Influence | Trust, company or other | £6,185 | ||
| Coast Winter 2023/24 | Trust, company or other | £5,800 | ||
| Summer Holiday Activity Program | Trust, company or other | £5,363 | ||
| SWP Youth Trust | Trust, company or other | £4,993 | ||
| C F in Wales Grant | Trust, company or other | £1,488 | £2,975 | |
| The National Lottery Community Fund | National Lottery | £2,479 | £1,771 | |
| Music4All | Trust, company or other | £2,135 | ||
| Swnsea Carers Centre | Trust, company or other | £1,113 | ||
| Kickstart | Trust, company or other | £1,085 | ||
| The Austin Bailey Foundation | Trust, company or other | £1,000 | ||
| SCVS Youth Bank | Trust, company or other | £850 | ||
| Gower Riders | Trust, company or other | £714 | ||
| CIN Booster Grant | Trust, company or other | £500 | ||
| Y Bartneriau | Trust, company or other | £285 |
Charities whose accounts say they funded it
| Funder | Year ending | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| Wales Council for Voluntary Action | 31 March 2023 | £243,955 |
Grants awarded to it, published on 360Giving
Funders that publish to 360Giving list 16 grants to this charity since 2010, worth at least £1,346,830.
By funder
- The National Lottery Community Fund£638,533, 4 grants
- BBC Children in Need£268,125, 6 grants
- CAF£252,964, 1 grant
- Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales£99,660, 1 grant
- Postcode Community Trust£73,085, 2 grants
- Benefact Trust£10,000, 1 grant
- Community Foundation in Wales£4,463, 1 grant
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 7 May 2025 | Postcode Community Trust | £50,000 |
| 17 Feb 2025 | Benefact Trust | £10,000 |
| 5 Jun 2023 | BBC Children in Need | £94,647 |
| 3 Apr 2023 | Postcode Community Trust | £23,085 |
| 20 Oct 2022 | BBC Children in Need | £500 |
| 11 Jul 2022 | Community Foundation in Wales | £4,463 |
| 23 Nov 2021 | CAF | £252,964 |
| 9 Sept 2020 | BBC Children in Need | £59,613 |
| 17 Jun 2020 | BBC Children in Need | £5,000 |
| 20 Mar 2020 | BBC Children in Need | £30,000 |
All 16 grants
| Awarded | Grant | Amount |
|---|---|---|
| 16 Jul 2019 | Lloyds Bank Foundation for England and Wales | £99,660 |
| 26 Jun 2019 | BBC Children in Need | £78,365 |
| 15 Jan 2019 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £9,750 |
| 29 Jan 2015 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £239,923 |
| 7 Oct 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £3,191 |
| 25 Mar 2010 | The National Lottery Community Fund | £385,669 |
Trustees
7 trustees run the charity.
- Emma GilroyChair
- Adel Shereef
- Debbie Lane
- Philip Raymond Treseder
- Rebecca Emma Forbes Kusu-Orkar
- Rhiannon Sheen de Jesus
- Victoria Jane Rees
Filing record
Of the last 5 annual returns that were due, 4 arrived by the deadline.
| Year ending | Due | Annual return | Accounts |
|---|---|---|---|
| 31 March 2025 | 31 January 2026 | Received 22 July 2026, 172 days late | Received 22 July 2026 |
| 31 March 2024 | 31 January 2025 | Received 16 August 2024, 168 days early | Received 16 August 2024 |
| 31 March 2023 | 31 January 2024 | Received 24 January 2024, 7 days early | Received 24 January 2024 |
| 31 March 2022 | 31 January 2023 | Received 16 January 2023, 15 days early | Received 16 January 2023 |
| 31 March 2021 | 31 January 2022 | Received 30 January 2022, 1 day early | Received 30 January 2022 |
About this charity
- Charity number
- 1154553
- Status
- Registered
- Registered with the Commission
- 12 November 2013
- Governing document
- MEMORANDUM AND ARTICLES INCORPORATED 01 AUG 2013AS AMENDED BY SPECIAL RESOLUTION REGISTERED AT COMPANIES HOUSE ON 16/10/2013
- Company number
- 08634510This company on OpenEconomyThis company on Companies House
- Website
- www.ymcaswansea.org.uk
- Council area of its contact address
- Swansea
Sources
- Register details, income, spending, trustees and filing dates: Charity Commission for England and Wales, register of charities. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.
- Funding from accounts: the charity's filed accounts, read by OpenEconomy's AI accounts reader on 1 November 2026.
- Grants awarded: 360Giving open grants data, from funders that publish there. Loaded by OpenEconomy on 2 November 2026.